Mock Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I halved this recipe and used a 9x12 pan and it was more than enough for 8-10 servings. Since I used a dark metal pan, I baked at 345 for 25-30 minutes - the recipe is quite easy - 1st time I've had an angel food cake turn out. The recipe is a little heavier than most angel food cakes, but perfect for a shortcake. I didn't have cake flour, so I used (in the 1/2 recipe) 2 cups all purpose flour and 1/4 cup cornstarch to substitute and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
This cake is good, but I have made it 3 times now and every time it takes a good 30 minutes extra cooking time before it is cooked all the way through. Also, it serves way more than 10 people! Tastes great though, especially iced with whipping cream and trimmed with fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Very good. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Rather heavy, unlike most boxed angel food cakes. It was almost impossible to separate the all the yolks and whites. After I was done making it it tasted quite nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Suggestions: pan size should be 12x18x2inches baking time could possibly be a litle longer. Also be sure to use a really lge bowl for the flour sugar mixture.Kitchen Aid mixer bowl was too small. My family really loves this cake and I make lemon curd and always have egg whites to use up.I serve smaller size than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Great cake. I had trouble with the size of the recipe fitting my bowls! I had to bake it in 2 9"x13" pans. From now on, I'll make 1/2 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
I've never had a sheet cake come out so level. Frosted with an Almond Butter Cream Frosting...It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2000
Almost as easy as making an angel food cake from a mix, but so much tastier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States