Mock Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe was great for making petit fours. Following the advice of others, I halved the recipe then baked it in a 1x18x12 baking sheet (lined on the bottom with waxed paper) and cut it into rectangles with an electric knife (cookie cutters didn't work). Be careful not to over bake--it becomes slightly rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I made this as a sheet cake and it came out of the pan just fine. I rolled it, using a lemon filling from allrecipes and it was an absolute hit. However, the rolled cake MUST sit for at least 6 hours so the cake absorbs the filling's moisture - it IS a dense cake and will be chewy if you cut into it too soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Was perfect! Made half a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Very good. More dense than the usual angel food cake. I actually only made one fourth of the recipe in an 8x8 pan. Turned out great for a smaller amount of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I use this recipe all the time for wedding cakes when requested. This is not an angel food cake it is a MOCK angel food cake, thus it is heavier almost sponge like. This recipe will fill what we call a 1/2 sheet cake pan and will serve 40-58 depending on how large your portions are. Half this for standard 13x9 pan. This is the best recipe for Mock angel food cake I have found. TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Deslauriers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This cake turned out very well. I didn't have any cream of tartar so I added 4 tsp of lemon juice instead - it probably could have used 6 tsp though. I didn't bother with sifting my dry ingredients, I just used my hand mixer on a very low speed for a few minutes to combine and get out any clumps. Next time I will definitely only make a half batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Greenville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I've always had success making angel food cakes from scratch, but not this time! I used this recipe cuz I wanted to make a cake roll with glazed strawberries and whipped cream. Followed the recipe to a T and the cake came out of the pan in pieces and had the texture of a heavy sponge. Thank goodness for the Brits who came up with Trifle -- I ended up making it instead and saved the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
me and my 10 year old sister tried out this recipie for my other sisters birthday. we spent the whole morning in the kitchen making the batter. it turned out very thick. we ended up having enough better for two 9by13 inch pans, how we dont no. nevertheless we liked this cake which is fairly easy. it is moist and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I drove to three different grocery stores today looking for an angel food sheetcake.. and it turns out it was MUCH easier to make one with this recipe. It was amazingly easy to make and came out wonderfully. After reading the other reviews that said the recipe made a LOT of cake, I decided to halve everything and use a 9x13 pan. It worked perfectly, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I scaled this to half using 2 cups of all purpose flour and put it in a jelly roll size pan lined with parchment paper (to make it easy to remove from the pan). I read another similar recipe that cooked at 400 degrees and since several reviwers said the cooking time indicated wasn't enough, I used the higer temperature. For my smaller batch, 15 minutes at 400 degrees worked perfectly. This is the oddest recipe ever but it really works, though you'll have your doubts when pouring boiling water into the flour mixture. The cake is just a bit heavier than traditional angel food, but that was good for my purposes, I wanted to make a rolled cake. I turned the very warm cake onto a tea towel dusted with powdered sugar and rolled it up till cool, then unrolled and filled with lemon filling. Frosted with whipped cream it was a very light and tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States