Mochiko Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was really good! I only marinated for about 8 hours and it was very flavorful. I used breast tenders and next time will fry at 360 ° instead of 350° as they got a little dried out trying to get them nice and golden brown. Leftovers were just as good. I made a dipping sauce out of soy sauce, sesame oil, siracha, rice wine vinegar and sugar. I think I enjoyed the leftovers even more. Definately will make these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I lost my recipe for this and couldn't believe I found yours on here.I heard to try it with coconut,sounds delicious!Love you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I found your recipe a long time ago, and have used it so many times since! We absolutely love it! Big hit at parties, it's always the first appetizer to go! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I've tried other Mochiko Chicken recipes and think that this one is the best. This recipe makes a huge batch so I halfed it and was still able to feed 4 people for dinner. This is a good item to have ready in the fridge...when I come home from work, I just fry it up and we're ready to chow down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for. Moist and tender, flavorful and perfectly browned. I took the extra time to make sure the tendons and connecting tissues were removed. It was worth the time spent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This came out great! I didn't add the salt just because of the fact that soy sauce is plenty salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
THESE ARE FANTASTIC!!! I had never heard of Mochiko Chicken before. I've already made them twice in ten days and can't get enough. I'm not a meat-lover but these I can't resist. Family really liked these and gobbled them up. The chicken came out looking exactly like the photo, was easy and quick, using ingredients I mostly had on hand already; used EV coconut oil for one batch and combo veg. oil for the other. I never add salt when recipes call for soy sauce. Didn't have green onions, only dehydrated so I used those. I keep wanting to upload a photo but they literally don't last until the whole batch is fried! Thank you, thank you for this incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This recipe is definitely too salty. Next time I will make this recipe with no salt in it as the soy sauce makes it salty enough. I did not marinate it over night and it was potent enough and yes it does dirty the oil. :)I will make this again tweaking the ingredients or adding maybe others (honey etc) and experimenting. Besides the salt issue it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made mochiko chicken for the first time using this recipe and agree about the saltiness. The next time I'm going to use low sodium soy sauce and not add salt. For those of you using a deep fryer set the temperature to 350 degrees frying for 7 minutes using medium size drumsticks and thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ng

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Love the recipe. I've noticed that some people think that it's too salty or strong so I have a suggestion. I don't know if this is available everywhere but....I use Aloha Shoyu, which is a Hawaiian version of regular soy sauce. It is has a much lighter taste than the regular soy sauce. Mochiko chicken is a popular dish in Hawaii and uses Aloha Shoyu instead of soy sauce. I use it all the time and never salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States