Mocha Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I used 3 tablespoons of Dutch chocolate powder instead of the chocolate squares and it was fabulous! Visually pleasing as well as scrumptious!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Pretty great recipe, but my comments are as follows: - Used a graham cracker crust which worked - Used cocoa powder instead of choc and that was fine (made sure cocoa was mixed into the coffee without lumps before adding) - My pie burned a little bit so I think I will bake at 160 C for 30 mins next time - It was too "set" for my liking - I would have preferred some more "wobble", so I may reduce the eggs to 1... but maybe the reduced bake temp & time would fix that? - I could not really taste the coffee flavour (with Mocha, you need more coffee and mild choc), but that may be the brand of coffee I used. Next time I will do 2 T cocoa + 2 T coffee. - I melted butter in saucepan and mixed in the pan as directed, but for the next time, I will probably just melt butter in the microwave and then mix in a normal mixing bowl. - BUT it was still an excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baker at  heart
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
BEST PIE I've ever had!! Hands down!! Wow, it's so good w/ the slight coffee flavor and the chocolate custard layer is so velvety smooth. Best served chilled :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Quick, easy, and so rich and chocolately! This is the perfect pie to make when you want to impress guests and not spend a lot of time in the process. I have made it with walnuts and almonds, and both were delicious. I think I may actually prefer almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
A very delicious pie! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Ohhhhhhhh the best! I loved the chocolate sauce, am going to use it for other recipies. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alondra Solá

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SBrikho
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was good. I probably wouldn't make it again though as it was not memorable. This got an extra point for being so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This one was hard for me to rate, as I was unable to taste it myself (due to food allergies), so I just had to go on the overall opinion of my extended family. Everyone agreed that the flavor was good, but that it wasn't anything spectacular. I added an extra star to the three star rating they recommended for ease. It was an easy recipe, something I had all the ingredients for, and probably would've gotten a little better reception if it had been at a more casual type gathering, and not a Christmas dinner, being compared to more fancy, elaborate desserts. All in all, I'd recommend others to try the recipe, and I'm glad I did try it...it just probably won't be my go-to Christmas party dessert recipe. Thank you for sharing though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This recipe is easy and fast and delicious. I put in a touch extra coffee and cocoa, because I like a stronger taste, and I used pecans instead of walnuts, because I thought i would go better. I served it cold, with whipped cream, because that seemed to be what the other reviewers did, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States