Mocha Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shermantx
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
A simple pie with great results... The only change I made was subbing 1/4 cup strong coffee for instant. Thank you for sharing SHOTZY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
You know you have a winner when you hear, "I HAVE to have this recipe!" I didn't have the chocolate squares, so substituted 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder. Because we love coffee, used 3 tablespoons of coffee instead of one. Quick and easy recipe with great results! Everyone who eats it raves about it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Sooo tasty! I used a frozen pie shell as we had one, and I used 1/4 cup Hershey's Dark chocolate chips instead of 2 oz unsweetened chocolate. Oh, and I used 1/4 cup strong coffee instead of instant and water. I put the walnut halves on top in a pretty pattern, and my husband was sure it was pecan pie... Poor him! He doesn't care for coffee or chocolate, but still thought it was okay! Thanks for sharing, Shotzy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I made this for thanksgiving with my boyfriend's family and it was a big hit, lots of requests for the recipe. Instead of using instant coffee I used 1/4th cup freshly brewed STRONG coffee, and I used about 1 1/2 cup of walnuts. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is one of the best pies I've ever made, and so simple! I was just starting out making pies and was amazed at the simplicity of this one. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Excellent. I used 2 x 1 ounce suqares of 70% cocoa bittersweet and 2 tbsps of Hershey's Special Dark chips...I want this really rich. And it was! Easy too. My six yesr old daughter did all of the mixing in the saucepan while I added the ingredients. Center was set for me at 42 minutes. Sprinkled with almonds as that's what I had. Dinner guests like this very much...the texture was sort of a cross between a brownie and a thich mousse. I'm mostly a cake person myself, but this certainly gave me my chocolate fix. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
So good! Made it exactly as written and it couldn't be easier. I threw in a small amount of sliced almonds with the walnuts because I had some to use up. My mother said it would be really good without the nuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Yesterday, when this pie was warm on my table, I would have rated it three stars. It was a bit too bitter; the texture was off somehow. Today, after it sat overnight in the fridge, I had a hankering for chocolate and thought, heck, let's eat this mocha pie already. Five-stars today! When served chilled, the texture changes considerably into a mousse-like consistency that melts in your mouth. The nuts add just enough pleasant crunch and the coffee flavor is much more subtle. A perfect blend. I made the following changes to the recipe: I substituted 3 TBS unsweetened cocoa powder for the 1 oz of unsweetened chocolate. Instead of a pastry crust, I layered the bottom of a cake pan with graham cracker crust to a depth of 1/2" and poured the pie batter on top of that. This made the pie come out easily as a torte and made a nice display for the table. Definitely something I'd make again--if I let it sit overnight before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Excellent. Try this! Wonderful texture - delicious flavor. I made the recipe exactly as written. I understand why a reviewer would say it was better the next day because then the flavors would have a chance to meld, however this pie won't make it that long in this house. I recommend using the "Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust" on this website - that is also excellent. I am trying new recipes all the time, (which is why my husband has two gym memberships and goes twice a day) and this is one of the best recipes I've found in quite some time. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Fabulous. I didn't have any unsweetened chocolate in the house but I did have a nice bar of bittersweet chocolate. I used 4 ounces of the bittersweet and added about a half-teaspoon of salt. Only baked about 37 minutes. We loved it -- taste and texture. And I loved how easy it was to make -- definitely a winner that I will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States