Mocha Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Delicious recipe! You can also top it with a variety of nuts! I've made it with walnuts, pecans, slivered almonds--it's great every time. My friends LOVED it. It's not a difficult recipe, but just be careful to melt everything together on LOW heat or your chocolate might burn, and stir constantly or it might separate (but it seems to be impossible to ruin)! Have all your ingredients nearby and measured before you begin. Also, 1/4 cup *strong* coffee will work if you don't have instant. My boyfriend said this was the best pie he'd ever tasted, and his roommates raved too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Excellent. Try this! Wonderful texture - delicious flavor. I made the recipe exactly as written. I understand why a reviewer would say it was better the next day because then the flavors would have a chance to meld, however this pie won't make it that long in this house. I recommend using the "Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust" on this website - that is also excellent. I am trying new recipes all the time, (which is why my husband has two gym memberships and goes twice a day) and this is one of the best recipes I've found in quite some time. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
You know you have a winner when you hear, "I HAVE to have this recipe!" I didn't have the chocolate squares, so substituted 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder. Because we love coffee, used 3 tablespoons of coffee instead of one. Quick and easy recipe with great results! Everyone who eats it raves about it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Yesterday, when this pie was warm on my table, I would have rated it three stars. It was a bit too bitter; the texture was off somehow. Today, after it sat overnight in the fridge, I had a hankering for chocolate and thought, heck, let's eat this mocha pie already. Five-stars today! When served chilled, the texture changes considerably into a mousse-like consistency that melts in your mouth. The nuts add just enough pleasant crunch and the coffee flavor is much more subtle. A perfect blend. I made the following changes to the recipe: I substituted 3 TBS unsweetened cocoa powder for the 1 oz of unsweetened chocolate. Instead of a pastry crust, I layered the bottom of a cake pan with graham cracker crust to a depth of 1/2" and poured the pie batter on top of that. This made the pie come out easily as a torte and made a nice display for the table. Definitely something I'd make again--if I let it sit overnight before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Sooo tasty! I used a frozen pie shell as we had one, and I used 1/4 cup Hershey's Dark chocolate chips instead of 2 oz unsweetened chocolate. Oh, and I used 1/4 cup strong coffee instead of instant and water. I put the walnut halves on top in a pretty pattern, and my husband was sure it was pecan pie... Poor him! He doesn't care for coffee or chocolate, but still thought it was okay! Thanks for sharing, Shotzy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Yum! this was just a really good, melt in your mouth pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FILLEFOU
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Absolutely delicious - I couldn't stop eating it! Wouldn't change a thing, except to experiment with new crusts, as my crust came out way too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Excellent. I used 2 x 1 ounce suqares of 70% cocoa bittersweet and 2 tbsps of Hershey's Special Dark chips...I want this really rich. And it was! Easy too. My six yesr old daughter did all of the mixing in the saucepan while I added the ingredients. Center was set for me at 42 minutes. Sprinkled with almonds as that's what I had. Dinner guests like this very much...the texture was sort of a cross between a brownie and a thich mousse. I'm mostly a cake person myself, but this certainly gave me my chocolate fix. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Ohhhhhhhh the best! I loved the chocolate sauce, am going to use it for other recipies. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alondra Solá

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
So good! Made it exactly as written and it couldn't be easier. I threw in a small amount of sliced almonds with the walnuts because I had some to use up. My mother said it would be really good without the nuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States