Mocha Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
The recipe "caught my eye" due to poor reviews. Read recipe/reviews. Was sure it wasn't recipe at fault but the reviewers as most probaby don't know what a SPONGE/FOAM cake is, nor do they understand the concept of mixing procedure, texture & very light flavor of THESE cakes. It IS NOT a American heavy textured/flavored cake. I'm a profess. pastry chef/instructor. I make these cakes everyday/know the texture & very light flavor of these cakes are what makes them special. Sponge-type (also known as foam) cakes, depend on beaten eggs for their light, airy texture, the mixing & folding procedule is VERY important as the batter can deflate before it even goes into the oven. Because it has no butter/oil it is lighter in texture, the flavors are very slight. They DO NOT require a frosting, only a little Whip Cr. & fruit. Think of it as Angel Food Cake. I wk in an Asian bakery, this is like our cakes only sweeter. Made this w/extra TBL of expresso & cocoa. Baked in 8" Springform pan-3" hi. Rose 2 3/4", deflated (which is what they do) to 2 1/2". Removed deflated sugary crusted top, split cake. Lined pan ring with acetate strip, put 1/2 cake in bottom of ring. Cut strawberries in 1/2, place along edge of cake, filled center w/whip.cr & sliced strawb. Added 2nd 1/2 of cake, piped whip cr. on top,added fresh strawberries. Removed pan ring to display cake. It was beautiful & declicious. THANKS for sharing recipe. Important & recom. all read about Sponge/Foam cakes to understand them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
It was light and fluffy, but it was very disappointing and lacked flavor. I replaced the coffee flavored liqueur with more chocolate, and it sure didn’t make a difference. It was very bland, and nobody liked it. My brother wouldn’t even touch it after a bite, and that says something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I saw all the bad reviews and I tried it out of curiosity. It's an excellent recipe if you make a few changes. It was delicious, light, airy and soft. I increased the cocoa powder to a heaping tablespoon, Instead of chocolate flavored liqueur I used one tablespoon of good quality vanilla. Instead of espresso I used 1 tbsp of Nescafe crystals and 1 tablespoon of Kahlua. There was enough to fill both pans. I think the main reason people don't like it is because they don't know how to separate eggs or to beat whites to stiff peaks. I used superfine sugar and eggs at room temperature. Overall it's very satisfactory and only needs to be baked for 15 minutes at most! I used a chocolate ganache on top and a vanilla whipped cream to sandwich the two cakes together. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samanthajay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
A'ight - so, I decided to give this recipe a try despite the horrible reviews, because the only complaints seemed to be about the flavour. I doubled the sugar, and put in more than double the original amount of coffee and cocoa. Everything else I did according to the recipe. It came out nice and spongy and the family liked it, although the recipe only made enough batter to fill one cake pan. Nevertheless, I thought it was tasty and made a good spongy cake, and it wasn't hard the next morning. I'm going to try it again with even more sugar and coffee next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
apparently, not everyone appreciate what the cake is all about. Asian mocha cakes are very light and airy. They are not as sweet as typical American cakes or European cakes. If you make a butter mocha frosting it will compliment this cake very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Me, and my friend decided to ignore the other review. We made it any ways. It was rock hard the next day. It tasted like a bran muffin but with less flavor. We didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Really light and yummy. I made a whipped cream filling and a dark chocolate ganache glaze on top. The cake itself is a little sweet for me, so I'll cut back on sugar next time! O, this cake does NOT need to bake more than 15 minutes. Otherwise, it was a nice spongey cake (not as good as other Asian bakery mocha cakes, but pretty darn good for homemade).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jangmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This recipe is missing something...I made it as a bunt cake and once removed from the oven, I noticed it was pretty dry so I took a toothpick and made tiny holes all over the cake, then seperetely, I took 2 cups of boiling water, added 2 tablespoons of instant coffee, 2 tablespoons of hot chocolate and 2 tablespoons of coffee liquor (I chose Tia Maria) added 3 tablespoons of sugar and mixed it all together, then poured it all over the cake while it was still in the pan and continued to cook for 2 more minutes.....Amazing. Please try this and let me know what you think...Mia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I ignored the ratings and made this cake for my dad's birthday coz he loves mocha.. and it was very disappointing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
did no one notice that the recipe does not say when to add the chocolate liqueur? after reading the recipe and following directions, i realized that my $20 bottle of godiva chocolate liqueur was sitting in the counter unopened. my bad, but i find this happens fairly frequently on this website - hopefully, after adding it to the batter, the cake will still rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States