Mocha Nut Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I've been searching for this recipe since Christmas 1982, when a friend brought these scrumptious things to a cookie swap. The recipe got lost as the years rolled on. We are thrilled to have found and baked these cookies. Can't tell you how happy we are! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This recipe has been a perennial Christmas favourite in my family for years - what a surprise to find it on this site. The only thing we do differently is to dissolve 2 tsp of instant coffee into 1 tbsp of hot water prior to adding it to the butter mixture (rather than adding 2 tbsp of instant coffee to the dry ingredients). Either way, give it a try - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I added a dash more of the instant coffee to the recipe. I found these cookies practically melt in your mouth! These cookies aren't just for Christmas!! A great crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Great Chrtismas cookie. I used 2 t. coffee instead of 1 T., turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Great cookie for Christmas exchange. I dipped in a simple glaze frosting (powdered sugar, vanilla, milk) while cookies were still warm. Nice finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Szzq

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I'm reviewing these again after making them a second time. This time, they were perfect. Absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the coffee part: instead of regular instant coffee I used 2 packets of Starbucks VIA vanilla flavored instant coffee. You can buy this in the grocery store or if not there, in your local Starbucks. I had a couple of packets left over from making iced coffee this summer and decided to try them in this recipe. I mixed them directly into the wet ingredients. Have no fears...the coffee completely incorporates into the wet ingredients. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly. The cookies were fabulous...rich, dark, chocolatey and delicious. Really good. One of my favorites! Try these, but do try the vanilla flavored instant coffee...it makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I have never reviewed an item but I had to defend these cookies. My mother made them every Christmas. They are a more delicious version of Russian tea cakes. They taste like chocolate coffee shortbread. If you don't like nuts, or coffee, or chocolate, don't make these. If you do they are the cookie for you. Be careful when you store them if they don't get enough air the powdered sugar gets sticky. Also don't skimp on the nuts they truly make the texture of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I searched for years for this recipe. It's one my Mom and I made every Christmas since the 80s. I was so happy to find it here. The cookies are kind of dry and hardly sweet, so they're unusual for sure. But the pecans and slight coffee taste combined with the powedered sugar is perfect. Love this cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Love these with a good cup of coffee in the morning as a treat during the holidays. My mother has made these for years and I just love them. I may add more coffee next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Excellent. Not a sweet kid's cookie, but they get sweeter if you dip them in more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States