Mocha Nut Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I was thoroughly disappointed with this cookie. I followed the directions exactly as stated yet it was too bitter and just didn't taste right. I've NEVER thrown anything away but I couldn't figure out a way to tweak this recipe to improve the flavor so they all ended up in the "recycle bin". For those wanting to try this, the flour/butter/sugar ratio doesn't seem to work (it's too dry and not sweet enough) and I feel 1/4 cup cocoa powder is a bit too much (it's too bitter) - maybe start with 2 tablespoons and add more as needed. Also, as suggested by another reviewer, 2 teaspoons of coffee is probably enough. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Love these with a good cup of coffee in the morning as a treat during the holidays. My mother has made these for years and I just love them. I may add more coffee next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I'm reviewing these again after making them a second time. This time, they were perfect. Absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the coffee part: instead of regular instant coffee I used 2 packets of Starbucks VIA vanilla flavored instant coffee. You can buy this in the grocery store or if not there, in your local Starbucks. I had a couple of packets left over from making iced coffee this summer and decided to try them in this recipe. I mixed them directly into the wet ingredients. Have no fears...the coffee completely incorporates into the wet ingredients. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly. The cookies were fabulous...rich, dark, chocolatey and delicious. Really good. One of my favorites! Try these, but do try the vanilla flavored instant coffee...it makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Very good. I used 4 teaspoons of vanilla plus 2 teaspoons of water to dissolve the coffee in. I also added an extra 1/4 c. of flour and 1 tsp of cinnamon. (I like cinnamon with chocolate.) I also mixed in some 1/2 c. mini chocolate chips. I have eaten too many of these today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This recipe has been a perennial Christmas favourite in my family for years - what a surprise to find it on this site. The only thing we do differently is to dissolve 2 tsp of instant coffee into 1 tbsp of hot water prior to adding it to the butter mixture (rather than adding 2 tbsp of instant coffee to the dry ingredients). Either way, give it a try - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I've been searching for this recipe since Christmas 1982, when a friend brought these scrumptious things to a cookie swap. The recipe got lost as the years rolled on. We are thrilled to have found and baked these cookies. Can't tell you how happy we are! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
They never firmed up a DRY AND CRUMBLY cookie. WILL NEVER MAKE AGAIN. I think it needs egg in there or something to bind the ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I added a dash more of the instant coffee to the recipe. I found these cookies practically melt in your mouth! These cookies aren't just for Christmas!! A great crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Great Chrtismas cookie. I used 2 t. coffee instead of 1 T., turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Excellent. Not a sweet kid's cookie, but they get sweeter if you dip them in more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States