Mocha Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Mine came out great. But there's a trick to stiffening egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I had a similar problem as many other reviewers: I didn't have Cream of tartar so I subbed it with equal parts vinegar. The egg whipped up beautifully within 10 min, using a hand held mixer. But when I added all the flavor ingredients it flattened out quickly. It baked fine, and tastes just fine (not great), but is not the shape it should be. I may need to play with this recipe a bit more, but its not 'go to' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlliMasaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I always do the first batch as written. Didn't work, the taste was there, and was good, but there must be something wrong with the amount of sugar. They came out flat, like ice cream sandwich cookies. We still ate them, but they weren't meringues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
The flavor is amazing, but there is far too much cocoa for the whipping to actually yield soft peaks. The egg whites never pouffed up for me and I was left with flat cookies. I also doubled the sugar, which I think added to the flavor and brought the sugar content up to the level of other meringues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I needed a bunch of these so I doubled the recipe. I used 1 1/2 cups sugar because what was put in the recipe was not enough. Other that I changed nothing else. Really good cookie!!!!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
it tastes absolutely amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
The taste was good, but I did not care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was a fabulous treat! I used Instant Jamaican Coffee as opposed to regular, and I piped (for added height) the cookies onto my pan before I tossed them in the oven and they had a fabulous texture when they finished. Crispy on the outside & tender and chewy on the inside. They melted in your mouth, and the guests I served them to had nothing but rave reviews for them. This is definitely going to be added to my holiday fav list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANTHERPAW18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Um this didn't turn out at ALL like a meringue...but it still tasted fine. I'm not sure what went wrong, I followed the directions exactly, and I mixed the ingredients for an hour (45 minutes by hand, 15 with an automatic mixer) but stiff peaks NEVER formed. So as a result the meringues were flat and airy, like strange cookies. Maybe because I'm at a high altitude (7500 feet) but I wasn't sure how to adjust. Still, they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet-o-wheat-o's

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States