Mocha Java Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I was so excited to try a great coconut bar, but this was just wayyy to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
These bars are awesome! I almost didn't make them because the ratings weren't really that great, but I'm so glad I did. I loved every layer and found they went together perfectly. The only change I will make when I make these next time is to drizzle the white chocolate on instead of spread it. There wasn't quite enough of it to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shteffers
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
"Yummy" said my friend Barb. Made these for a potluck lunch. The only variations I made were to drizzle the white chocolate and added mini chocolate chips on top for texture. Very complex blend of flavors and yes, very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shteffers
Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is a graham cracker crust with frosting. The coconut threw off the coffee taste, and the white chocolate made an already really sweet bar SUPER sweet. Nobody finished theirs. I might try it again sometime without the coconut and white chocolate though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
So good! This recipe needs some small changes though. I have been baking for many years, so have learned to go with my instincts when trying a new recipe. I cut out the 2 tsp. of coffee granules, as it would be way too strong and bitter. I also cut the icing sugar to 2 cups, and I added two tbls. corn syrup as it gives an extra mellow sweetness to the frosting.Whenever I make frosting for cakes or squares etc., I always add corn syrup to give it an extra rich and creamy taste. Use a 9 inch pan, fits just right.However if you want very thin and dainty type squares,use a 9x13 inch pan. Just great! Also, they would be better without the melted chocolate on them, don't need it really. They have all the flavor and sweetness without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
What a HUGE disappointment! I raced all over town to get the ingred's for this...and it ended up in the trash. It didn't tell you what size pan to use, the mocha layer was bitter, and 15 mins was not near long enough to chill in the fridge before adding the white chocolate. Some recipes I botch I keep just for myself to nibble on after deciding not to serve to guests. Not this one. Hope others have better success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
These bars are soooo good! I had about 40 minutes to prepare a dessert for a pot luck and didn't want to make blah brownies from a box. I used pre-made graham cracker crumbs, but next time I think I'll crush them myself for more texture in the crust. Instead of spreading the white chocolate on top, I melted it in the microwave in a ziplock baggie and snipped off the corner to drizzle it. Mine weren't chewy, as another reviewer found, but I also didn't store them in the fridge. These are so quick and easy... if you like coffee and chocolate, you'll love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I made these a year ago formy boyfriend's birthday and he still talks about them. I lost the recipe but am so thankful to have found it again. These are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Thanks Otto for a fabulous recipe. These were chewy, delicious and a hit with the room mates. I will make these again, and will substitute more coffee and kahlua or bailys for the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Relatively easy to prepare. My coffee loving customers loved them. Thanks! :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States