Mocha Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Add cream cheese!! I had similar problems to others with the frosting being way too thin. I added more conf. sugar and was able to frost but it was WAY too sweet for me with very little coffee flavor. My guests said it was delish but I think they were just being nice. I wound up scraping off the frosting from the uneaten cupcakes and rewhipping with a block of cream cheese. OMG!!!! This was amazing. Can't wait to take the leftovers into work tomorrow as I know I'll get rave reviews. Even brought out the coffee flavor. Very happy after my initial disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Great recipe. For those who are saying it is more like a glaze, that is because you are following the recipe exactly and the person who wrote it made a slight error. The butter should NOT be melted but just softened. That will make frosting consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
omg! sooooo delicious...... even if it wasn't thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Royal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and it's like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
While I agree with other reviews that the recipe as written it is thin and more like a thick glaze, the flavor was wonderful! I was actually looking for a thick glaze type icing for my banana oatmeal avocado flax seed cookies, so this worked out perfectly for my needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Made this today after looking for a chocolate icing recipe that didn't require milk. This is easy and awesome. I made the recipe exactly as shown using special dark chocolate cocoa. It is perfect with the Nairobi Chocolate cake (also found on this site). Chocolate to die for!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharyljean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great flavor, way too thin, will not use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I like this recipe - the flavour is quite coffee like, and chocolatey - but i suggest a really really strong coffee. I once did it with a mild coffee and there was barely any taste. Instead of melting the butter, I've done it with a room temperature butter whipped first. Then added the coffee (lukewarm) and the chocolate and the consistency is almost perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I make it all the time and love it!!!! I use mocha swirl coffee for my keurig
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent icing with great flavour:-) I used 1/4 cup of softened butter and added a bit of milk. This recipe made enough to spread easily on a 9 by 13 inch cake. It spread beautifully and my little grandson loved licking the bowl! Thanks for a great recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States