Mocha Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Disaster! This fudge turned to sand when I let it start to cool to room temperature. I tried to follow the recipe very closely, so I am not sure where things went wrong...but oh they went very wrong. Probably won't try this one again...I was able to create my own mocha fudge by adding instant coffee granules to a plain fudge recipe I use (I just stirred them into the sugar before I added to the pot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Delicate recipe. I would not recommend letting it cool but rather just mixing in the chocolate just after taking off the heat. By letting it cool, you'll get a fudge that is going to instantly turn before you can get it into the pan. Marbling is not an effect because the caramel is so dark already. If it does fail and turns to sand, then just put the chunks into a microwave safe bowl and nuke for 2 minutes until it's bubbling again. Then pour hot mix into pan right away and you have an instant recovery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Mine turned out great. If yours turned to sand it was because your sugar crystalized. This is how to avoid it. When you start boiling the mixture, take a pastry brush and a cup of water and brush the sides of the pan with the wet brush to wash down any sugar crystals. It only takes a couple of stray crystals to make the whole pot crystalize so do a good job, but don't put too much extra water into your fudge. Also, you don't want to stir the fuge or jostle the pot until it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I used a candy thermometer and followed exactly the instructions given, it turned out wonderful. My family is in the chocolate business and I try these for the fun of it. This recipe is a keeper. --Thanks Krysteen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I don't drink coffee, but I made this for my husband's office, and he LOVED IT! He said the coffee balanced the "sweetness" of the fudge (there ARE 3 cups of sugar in here!). Key is to NOT MOVE THE FUDGE while it's cooling from soft ball stage to room temperature. Just a little movement can cause the sugars to crystalize. Will definitely make this again, perhaps for Christmas! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ainadaliel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I might have done something wrong, because my recipe came out mushy and much more stickier than I though. It was also a bit sandy, like some other reviewers mentioned. I don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohagal287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I had the same problem, and followed the recipe exactly. too bad, it sounded great. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I used espresso powder because it's what I had on hand and also because I love the espresso flavor. It turned out very well. I also took other reviewers’ advice and stirred the chocolate chips in after it was cooled slightly. This is a nice change of pace from the usual fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I made this fudge but changed a few things and it came out perfect. Great soft creamy texture and fantastic flavor. I didn't have pecans but am sure the fudge would have been great with them as well. I like a stronger coffee taste so I added and extra 1/2 Tbsp. of coffee granules. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I cooked to 236F, removed from heat and added the chips right away. It took a lot of beating as it cooled but the result was a soft creamy fudge bursting with flavor. Will definitely make this next week to take to a bake sale at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina & Rob V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Having finally learned the knack of fudge this fudge turned out great. I tasted the fudge as it cooled (before adding the chocolate) and it was a beautiful coffee buttery flavor. Having learned the tricks of cooking long enough, but not too long, letting the fudge cool enough before stirring, etc. This fudge came out yummy!!! The only change I made is I used a tablespoon of expresso powder in lieu of the instant coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliciad54

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States