Mocha Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
While I couldn't detect the mellow coffee flavor the submitter describes, the coffee (and a good pinch of salt) no doubt did heighten the chocolate flavor because for some reason it just does. I was not entirely happy with the recipe as is, preferring to nearly double the butter, which I didn't melt. By doing so I got the fluffy "chocolate ice cream" look and mouth feel I was after, and a frosting that wasn't overly sweet. I used this to frost "Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I used a little more butter and milk just to get to the consistency I was after, but the basics were still there. Good flavor and seemed easy to tweak for what I wanted, which is much appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Delicious! Need to stay out of it so there is enough left to frost the cupcakes. It reminds of a frosting my grandmother used to make- none of that artificial flavor of canned frosting. I made it with margarine because that was all I had and it was fine. I also used coffee that had been brewed and that was fine too. I used only one tablespoon of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This frosting had a good flavor. I made it for a faceless recipes (recipes without photos) for the website. I am just still trying to think, what to use it with. It's 10x better than using canned frosting. Although, I couldn't really taste the coffee. It tasted like a good rich chocolate frosting. The color was like a milk chocolate. I thought it tasted a lot like a frosting version of fudge. It is really sweet, but that is to be expected. Maybe, a lightly sweet shortbread type cookie would work. I will update with a picture, when I figure it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I made this using a little more milk and powered sugar. Plus I used 1 1/2 tbsp of coffee (I wanted a stronger coffee flavor). Love coffee!!! I got it to the consistency that I wanted and put it on my one bowl chocolate cake 3 (from this site). Just wonderful together. Thanks future _chef for this easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was pretty good, although I did have to add a bit more milk to get it to a spreading consistency, and I also resorted to using a hand mixer rather than a whisk. I do think the instructions could use a little finesse - perhaps whisk the dry ingredients together, then add the wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This is delicious ! I added about 4 more tablespoons of milk; I honestly didn't measure; just added a bit at a time until it was the consistency I wanted. I also used 1tblsp of instant espresso powder. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Used a heaping tablespoon of instant coffee and had to eyeball the powdered sugar, since I buy in 10 lb bags. Super easy and ingredients I was able to pull from my nearly empty pantry. Used it to frost a red velvet cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Good! Loved spreading consistency. Doubled all ingredients except 10x sugar (only used normal amnt) to icing 9x13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was a nice consistency for icing. I couldn't really taste the coffee but is was nice all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States