Mocha Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I found a similar recipe that calls for 2 TEASPOONS of boiling water rather than 2 TABLESPOONS. This change would probably thicken the batter for all the reviewers who found it too runny. See "Mocha Walnut Cookies" by Carmela Sagendorf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These were too crunchy and thin for me - not chewy at all! And the coffee flavor was overwhelmed by all the chocolate! The idea is great though, and they are good if you like crunchy chocolate cookies, but I will work on tweaking these cookies until they come out perfect - thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
They were GREAT everybody LOVED them!!Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KameleonCharm
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Even after doubling the amount of coffee, you still couldn't taste the coffee flavor after the cookies were baked. You could taste it just fine in the dough, though. However, the dough was more like a batter. Very liquidy, should chill for a while first. The cookies stuck to the bottom of the pans pretty badly. I even tried greasing the pan for my last batch, but it did not help much. In the aftermath, the bottoms were scraped up, the cookies were crunchy around the edges, soft in the middle, and tasted just like chocolate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KameleonCharm

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Love it! I took them into work and everybody loved it. They're now asking me for the recipe so they can make the cookies for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
A great tasting crisp cookie, but I have to agree with some of the others-- the dough is far too "liquidy." I had to add an entire extra cup of flour to it. They do spread so be sure to put extra space between the cookies. Also, makes more like 3 dozen, rather than 4 so you may want to consider doubling the recipe. I also cooked them for only 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I hate to disagree with the other reviews, but I didn't care much for these cookies. I generally love anything mocha flavor, but these had an odd, almost burned taste and they spread like pancakes even after refrigerating the dough for several hours. Not at all pretty to look at. I ended up spreading the remaining dough in a square pan and making bar cookies, which were more attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I brought these into work and everyone loved them! I was worried that they would be too rich, but no one noticed the coffee flavor until I told them that it was in there. They just thought they were chocolate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Fabulous -- rich and delicious! I used dark choclate chips instead of semi-sweet and left out the nuts. I'm not sure if they last well because I made them for someone else, but the one I had was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Awesome! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States