Mocha Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The flavor of these cookies is wonderful. However, mine look nothing like the picture posted with this recipe. Mine resemble more like lava rocks than cookies. I drizzled some extra melted chocolate over the top and made them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
cookies came out crystallized and hard . next time i will add at least 1 extra cup of flour along with some coffee liqueur. dough was more like pancake mix then dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
From the moment I mixed the espresso powder into the boiling water, something smelled burnt. Crazy as it sounds, the cookies tasted burned because of the smell. The cookies were very crispy despite being convection baked, and they were hard to get off the cookie pan. I considered doubling the recipe, glad I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I loved these! I used pecans and almonds instead of walnuts and used 3 tbsp of coffee instead of 2. I dropped bigger spoonfuls onto the sheet and baked for 10 min or less. They were less crunchy and burnt. These are wonderful but extremely chocolaty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
The cookies had a good taste. My mom, who loves dark chocolate, liked the cookies. My only complaint was that they were not soft, they were more of a crunchy cookie which I really don't care for. If you like dark chocolate and a crunchier cookie, this is a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
These cookies are absolutely amazing. The photo someone submitted makes them seem lighter than they were for me. Mine were pretty dark due to the melted chocolate in the batter. HUGE hit with the people at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Rabon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yosemite National Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Great cookies. I added a little extra coffee and about 1/4 cup extra flour. The cookies were crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle. Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
As some other reviewers said, these turned out to be thin. We didn't have any instant coffee so we used a small amount of (believe it or not) coffee grounds instead. It helped with the missing-coffee-flavor problem. The flavor turned out well enough that we still all ate and enjoyed them. In fact, the thinness made them FABULOUS with coffee ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
"Moaners" is a great description. These cookies are addictive and absolutely sinful. I do modify the recipe very slightly; I use 1 cup semi-sweet, 1/2 cup white chocolate chips and use macadamia nuts rather than walnuts. I'm currently making my second batch, this time using baking Splenda rather than white sugar (regular brown though) and they seem to be coming along just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I found a similar recipe that calls for 2 TEASPOONS of boiling water rather than 2 TABLESPOONS. This change would probably thicken the batter for all the reviewers who found it too runny. See "Mocha Walnut Cookies" by Carmela Sagendorf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States