Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Really good! Made it for my mom's birthday! Only complaint is more coffee taste would be nice. I am an addict and so is my mom haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexik721

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This cake was excellent! Everyone raved about this cake when I made it. I am new again to baking and I used some suggestions here (1/2 cup of oil, and substituting for the liqueur). I used espresso in place of the double strength coffee. it turned out great! thank you for the suggestions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made this in the form of cupcakes for a party and they were fabulous. The adults, teens and children all loved them. I am making a cake tonight for a friend's birthday. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I "accidentally" purchased a dark chocolate cake mix; not a huge fan of dark chocolate so I looked for something to "help" it out. This was a delicious recipe! I didn't have coffee liqueur, and didn't read the suggestion about using strong regular coffee until later (I'll try that next time). I substituted 3/4 cup water for the coffee. I forgot to mix in the chocolate chips and had already put the cake in the oven, so I sprinkled them on top. They sank about midway for a semi-sweet creamy center - loved it! The cake was super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I agree with some other posters who said the cake called for too much liquior. I used a dark chocolate mix and used just under one cup of liquior. Then I used my favorite chocolate frosting from Betty Crocker. Didn't add anything; just nuked it for 25 seconds to make it so I could pour it over the cake. I do think that beating the batter for the required 3-5 minutes is what ultimate made this cake rise so well. I didn't have a bundt pan but made an 11 inch round that was dense and moist. It would even be good without frosting and just dusted with some confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is a great recipe. I loved it with the coffee butter frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellesMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Yum, yum! I LOVE this cake - chocolate is one of my fave flavors...of course, when I make cakes, I use applesauce rather than oil, egg substitute for eggs, and fat free sour cream and/or puddings. My family is always fooled by the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Forgot the chips. Used 3 tlb oil. Used strong coffee for the cake and coffee liquor for the icing. Didnt like the texture and couldnt taste the coffee at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly it was decadadently delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This cake is excellent! Moist, semi-dense, rich - all of my favorite cake adjectives. I followed recipe exactly, except for usuing 3/4 cup mini chips instead of 1 cup regular. I was going to make a ganache and decided at the last minute to follow the recipe directions for the icing - glad I did! I used a dark chocolate fudge frosting with the Kahlua. We took this to a party and all of the very full guests had to have some. H didn't want to leave it and ate one more piece before we went home. I'll make this again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States