Mocha Buttercream Chocolate Espresso Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Absolutley delicious! The cake was moist and flavorful. I made half of the recipe and made cupcakes which made 18 cupcakes. I piped the frosting on top using a startip and topped it with a dark chocolate espresso bean. I will be making this again, next time I will add more coffee granules to the cake batter and frosting because I like a stronger coffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This cake was good, but not extremely moist. It recieved rave reviews at the party which I served it at, however I think it was mostly due to the frosting, which was delicious. In the furture I may use a boxed cake and follow the other instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura L
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
So rich and delicious. I brought this cake to work, it was so moist and the buttercream frosting is to die for. The frosting is velvetty, and melts in your mouth. I will be making this cake for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by autoshowcase
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was delicious and a big hit for a birthday request. Very moist and lots of coffee flavor! I will use this again and recommend to anyone. Very easy to make and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autoshowcase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I just finished making this for my mother's 60th b-day and it is fabulous! (I'm eating the part I trimmed off the top with extra icing). It's a lot of work for a cake but for such a special occasion it was worth it. I followed the recipe exactly and it worked perfectly (although the recipe does make a lot of icing). After I frosted the cake I put semi-sweet chocolate ships around the bottom edge and shaved some dark chocolate on top (like sprinkles) to jazz it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kenna
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I made this cake for my husband's graduation and it was a hit. There are several steps involved to infuse the cake with its mocha taste. It's worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Got such a beautiful cake out of this recipe. It came out very moist, and the glaze, I believe, helps when spreading the frosting on the cake, making it less crumbly. A nice change from basic chocolate cake. I made the frosting as directed, using exactly 240 grams of confectioners' sugar, and the consistency was perfectly spreadable without being too soft. I substituted the buttermilk for 1 tablespoon vinegar added to 1 cup milk. It always works in cakes when I don't have any real buttermilk on hand. Next time, I might try flavouring with Kahlua in the cake instead of coffee granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My daughter requested this recipe for me to make for her birthday this year. It is a delicious cake - highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was the first cake I have ever made from scratch, and I'm so happy to report that it turned out very nicely! I followed the recipe exactly, and the only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars was because the cake didn't rise very much so it was pretty dense and shallow in my 2 8" pans. The glaze seemed to stay wet on the cake (I was expecting it to crust a bit), but it adds a great flavor. I will definitely hang onto this recipe - very yummy, rich cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States