Mocha Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Excellent recipe. We have an alergy to anise here so this was a great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made this recipe exactly as said and they turned out as it should have, however, the taste of these biscotti cookies (and I love biscotti!) was not great at all. This recipe does not come recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I made these for my Italian Grandpa for Christmas, he loved them. I will be making these again. The flavors are not too strong after baking, you just have to like these particular flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Nice pronouced coffee flavor but the dough was ordinary at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I loved this! You cant go wrong with this recipe. You can make a nice glaze to go over this to make it an extra special treat and if you like more of a chocolate taste only put 1/3 cup sugar and a little more coco in its place.The best biscotti I have ever had.I would not put chocolate chips maybe 1/3 cup but a cup is to much.I still love this recipe Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
The first time I made this recipe, I followed the advice of others and cut the coffee in half. Big mistake - it barely had a coffee taste, and if I'm going to eat something with "mocha" in the title, I want to taste coffee! The second time I made it I used the full amount and found it to be excellent. In the second batch, I also used vanilla instead of almond extract, because in the first batch I made, I found the almond extract to be too competitive with the mocha flavor I was hoping to achieve. Finally, my biggest piece of advice is DO NOT SKIP THE CHOCOLATE CHIPS! In fact, add more and you'll experience a truly wonderful mocha biscotti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mc Coy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I personally liked the level of the coffee flavor in the original recipe. The only thing I had a problem with was the chocolate to be drizzled on top. I've made this recipe twice now, and the chocolate never "drizzles". Perhaps I need some advice on melting it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I took the advise of others when making this, which is why I am giving it 4 stars. If I made it as the recipe reads I would have scored it lower. I cut the coffee measurement in 1/2. Even in doing that they have a strong flavor. If you like dark chocolate you will love them. I was afraid they would be to strong so I drizzled the melted semi sweet chocolate and when that was cool also drizzled melted milk chocolate on top. I will maybe make again but am still looking for a great mocha biscotti or coffee flavored biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Being Italian, I make biscotti often. This recipe is the only one I've ever had a problem with. I followed this recipe exactly as written. I scaled it to make 54 servings thinking I'd make 3 logs and ended up with enough dough for only 2. It then made only 20 edible pieces because they were too crumbly after the first baking and fell apart when I cut them. The coffee was indeed extremely strong and bitter. (Even with the chocolate chips added!) I like the idea of this recipe, however I would strongly recommend cutting the coffee in half and possibly cutting down on the first baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
They're great for dunking in tea! I didn't likle them as well plain, though. Perhaps if I had used the chocolate coating. BTW, to the reviewer who complained about how small they are, they're the same size home-made biscotti always come out. Only restaurants make them huge (Why? I don't know.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States