Mobile Bay Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
It will have to be a really cold day before I whisk flour and clarified butter for 45 minutes. Great gumbo--even leaving out the seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wonderful, but I leave out the oysters! Been using this recipe for 40 years, I live on Mobile Bay in AL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We live in Mobile,Al. and this is the standard gumbo recipe around here-GREAT- but,PERSONALLY, I don't use the oysters and not as much okra-just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
The tough part was clarifying the butter and whisking the roux, but after that hurdle it was a breeze! My family loved the gumbo. It has lots of flavor but is not overpowering or too spicy. The directions were spot=on, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I only put half a can of tomato paste, you really dont want it tasting like a bowl of pasta. I also did 2 tablespoons of old bay seasoning and 2 tablespoons of gumbo file. I also added hot links and chicken pieces to make it a hearty gumbo. More ingredients is better than less. This really was a good starter receipt for gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This recipe is TOUGH! I used 1/2 the okra and 1/2 of the tomato paste, and it was still had a lot of okra, and it seemed like a very thick tomato soup. It was delicious with just shrimp, but could be watered down a lot and still be delish. Great recipe overall, but not worth the time, effort, and injury that went into it. Warning to others who have never made gumbo - it cooks VERY HOT, so I recommend wearing rubber kitchen gloves when you mix in the broth to avoid serious burns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I think I just made tomato gravy, y'all. I am down to letting it simmer for 1 hour and it looks like pasta sauce, but taste like tomato gravy. Can someone please tell me what went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This It's tomatoe gravy. But it was alright tasting for like a tomatoe bisque or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iancobia@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I've had Mobile gumbo & it's not like any I've ever had. Too much like thick tomato soup. I like it more brown than red & not so thick. If I ever use this recipe again ,way less flour & tomato paste. More okra though :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I was extremely disppointed in this recipe. It was too thick and the seafood was hardly discernable. The flavor was not particularly good although it was better the second day. I will not be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States