Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
These are *wonderful* - I will stick with this recipe from now on! I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan, baking for about 35 minutes. I also topped the batter with butterscotch and white chocolate chips for a sweet surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
940 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
These are FANTASTIC! Quite possibly the best brownies I've ever made! I even cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup and they were DIVINE. They are wonderfully gooey, sweet and chocolately. And MUCH lower in fat and calories than regular brownie recipes, but you'd never know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
592 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shealuna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Perfect for a late night chocolate craving and an urge to bake as they go into and out of the oven quickly. In my hurry, however, I didn't bother to read any of the reviews before I started and wish I had. I would have learned that other than using oil instead of butter, this is the same recipe as "Best Brownies," also from this site. (I happen to love that recipe!) In that recipe, however, an 8x8" pan is used. No wonder these turned out so thin, as others have noted! I used the 9x9" pan this recipe called for and while I was pleased with the brownie itself, which was moist, fudgey, with a bit of a crispy edge, I was disappointed in how thin they turned out. Unfortunately, that was a deal breaker for me as it made for a rather unimpressive looking brownie. Also, I found 18 minutes baking time perfect, so it's no wonder others found these dry if they were baking them for the recommended 20-25 minutes! Good brownie ingredients-wise, but somewhat flawed directions in terms of both pan size and baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
546 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Mmmm!! Yes, these are the best brownies ever! I followed the recipe to a "t". I don;t understand why people change up the recipe and then blame the recipe contributor for the problems they end up with. These did make a very small pan, maybe enough for two hungry brownie lovers. I usually just stick to my favorite box from the grocery store that I discovered, but I do prefer these one more. I will be making them in the future. Thank-you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
O M G...These are by far the best brownies I have ever had in my short 38 years!!!! I, however, had no 9x9 pan. I used my glass 8x8 baking dish, added 1/4 cup milk chocolate chips mixed into batter, and did use another reviewer's suggestion of melted butter instead of vegetable oil. Also, since my pan was 8x8, I knew they would be a little thicker than the 9x9 would produce so I increased the baking time to 30 minutes exactly. OMG, I swear by this recipe and I've tried many homemade ones and ALL boxed versions. If you haven't tried this, do yourself a favor especially now around Valentine's Day....TRY THIS RECIPE!! Thank you thank you thank you to Sarah who gave us this DEELISH homemade brownie recipe! (My 4 yr old thanks you too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Everyone in my family loved these. I used the melted butter as suggested. The brownies were nice and fudgey and had a shiney crackled top. They stayed moist for three days. Will make these again for sure. Can't wait to try different add ins. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is the recipe I've been using to bake brownies for well over a decade now, even before I attended culinary school! I notice the latest reviewer complained about the gritty taste of the sugar in the product. I suggest she try either butter or if she wants to cut out butterfat in her diet, use a 1/4 cup of butter and make the rest vegetable oil, or stick to all vegetable oil, but do the following anyway: Microwave it for 1-2 minutes or until it melts(or oil is warmed). Add the sugar to the warm/hot butter/oil, and this melts the sugar. Better yet, try honey! I've also taken out as much as a half cup of sugar out of the recipe, and it works fine. Microwaving or heating the oil causes the sugar to melt slightly, and if she uses a wire whisk to mix, it can also help to blend the butter, sugar and eggs together more smoothly. Don't ever give up on a recipe after one try, because it's not a fair assessment of it. Anything can cause a recipe to "fail" (the temps outside, the oven too hot/cool, not familiar with the recipe) in the first try. I urge her to try again, and maybe try some of my tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Oh my! I can't believe these came out as fudgey as they did! I read the reviews and was a bit leary for fear I would have another cakey brownie on my hands. I didn't change a thing and they came out so incredibly fudgey. The only time I can get a brownie to be this fudgey moist is if I use 1 cup of butter...so this is much more economical to make without compromising flavor. Great, Great recipe!!! thanks so much. If one likes an incredibly fudgey moist brownie, this is a great one. I used a 9x6 ? pan. I don't see why an 8x8 couldn't be used. May just have to bake a few more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This is the best brownie recipe I have found yet! I changed the 1/2 cup oil to butter and added chcoclate chips on top plus a frosting made froma another recipe here and they were awesome! This recipe is now my stand-by recipe and I am so glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdoug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
These were wonderful! Very very close to being as good as one of the better boxed mixes! I used an 8x8 pan, added 2 tbls of chocolate syrup and a handful of chocolate chips, used melted butter instead of the oil as some of the other reviewers had done. I ended up baking for almost 30 minutes. Do NOT over bake! Be sure to remove these when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with moist crumbs clinging to it, and NOT getting to the point where the toothpick would come out completely clean. You will have a super fudgy, moist brownie. I wish it was a tad bit more chewy, but wouldn't mess with the recipe because it really is SO good and SUPER easy. It is nice and chocolatey so I don't think I really needed to add the chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,002) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States