Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Costco now carries mizithra cheese but before this, I'd purchased it at Old Spaghetti Factory restaurant. Trader Joes also carries it but may be seasonal item. Easy recipe but made changes to make it a healthier meal: 1. While pasta was boiling, I tossed in a whole bag of Trader Joe's french carrots. 2. Drained & transferred to large mixing bowl. 3. Made brown butter, as soon as bubbles appeared, I added chopped garlic. 4. Mixed the butter with the pasta & carrots. I happen to have mushrooms, so I sautéed these on same brown butter pan. Also added frozen chopped spinach to mushrooms. When mushrooms browned, added ranch dressing dry mix (2-3 shakes). Tossed veggies with pasta. Made this several times now, always a trusty recipe.... also served with leftover grilled veggies. Definite keeper for mid-week dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
It was ok. I guess I had my hopes up for it to taste like the spaghetti establishment's dish. I will try it again in case it was my preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Just like Old Spaghetti Factory--if you can get your hands on the mizithra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
One of my favourite ways of eating spaghetti. However, the recipe is missing the most important ingredient - dried mint! This is how it's eaten in Cyprus (we eat it with Anari, which is our version of Mizithra) and it makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this tonight, but didn't skim the fats off the butter. It definately didn't taste the same. My butter was carmel & my mizithra cheese was finely grated. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My Grandmother made me this same dish growing up. She called it Greek Spagetti. It is fantastic and the ingredients are easy to come by at Whole Foods or a Mediterranean Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
So good! I used less butter, about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was pretty good. One of my favorite places to go is The Old Spaghetti Factory and this is a signature dish for them. I have made it a few times. My favorite was when I melted the butter and added a splash of white wine (dry). I also added a handfull of cheese to the butter wine combination. I then tossed the pasta and topped it off with the remaining cheese. The wine helped the sauce stick to the pasta a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homecookingwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I've been wanting to make this for a while but had a hard time finding Mizithra. Went to 5 stores and Safeway had it but it was finely grated. I ended up getting the cheese at OSF. They sell it by 1/2 lb at $5.75. I used the same ingredients but didn't use the same measurements. I followed the other viewers suggestions on browning the sweet butter, 1.5 cups, first before tossing it in with the noodles. I didn't skim the butter, I poured it all in. I used 1/4 lb of cheese and that was plenty, including shaking some on the top of the noodles. It tasted just like the one at the OSF. My tummy loves it but I think my thighs & heart begs to differ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States