Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made this last night after talking with the cheese man at Whole Foods. It was fantastic. My husband wouldn't shut up about it! I did deviate a little from the recipe so keep that in mind if you read this. I was craving something rich with a bit of tanginess, so I added some halved cherry tomatoes. I had some kale I needed to get rid of and logically, if I have red tomatoes, I need something green. (in my mind anyway) I also added garlic because… well… garlic. I also added less mizithra cheese because I tasted a tiny bit alone, against the cheese mans advice and of course found it to be extremely salty (as he'd warned). And so, upon rereading my review, I've come to the conclusion that I didn't make this recipe last night at all but stand by the fact that the cheese man and this recipe still made my night and my husbands. It was a starting point and a darn good one! Highly recommend you start here as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Wells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Tried this recipe with success several times using Romano Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcalis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Costco now carries mizithra cheese but before this, I'd purchased it at Old Spaghetti Factory restaurant. Trader Joes also carries it but may be seasonal item. Easy recipe but made changes to make it a healthier meal: 1. While pasta was boiling, I tossed in a whole bag of Trader Joe's french carrots. 2. Drained & transferred to large mixing bowl. 3. Made brown butter, as soon as bubbles appeared, I added chopped garlic. 4. Mixed the butter with the pasta & carrots. I happen to have mushrooms, so I sautéed these on same brown butter pan. Also added frozen chopped spinach to mushrooms. When mushrooms browned, added ranch dressing dry mix (2-3 shakes). Tossed veggies with pasta. Made this several times now, always a trusty recipe.... also served with leftover grilled veggies. Definite keeper for mid-week dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
It was ok. I guess I had my hopes up for it to taste like the spaghetti establishment's dish. I will try it again in case it was my preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Just like Old Spaghetti Factory--if you can get your hands on the mizithra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
One of my favourite ways of eating spaghetti. However, the recipe is missing the most important ingredient - dried mint! This is how it's eaten in Cyprus (we eat it with Anari, which is our version of Mizithra) and it makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this tonight, but didn't skim the fats off the butter. It definately didn't taste the same. My butter was carmel & my mizithra cheese was finely grated. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My Grandmother made me this same dish growing up. She called it Greek Spagetti. It is fantastic and the ingredients are easy to come by at Whole Foods or a Mediterranean Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
So good! I used less butter, about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States