Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I think it's essential to use unsalted butter, as the cheese is salty enough, and to strain the browned butter through a paper towel to remove the solids. More effective than skimming. Donna, I'd give you my firstborn in thanks for sharing this simple, but fantastic recipe, but she won't stop eating the pasta...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Love it! Just like the Spaghetti Factory! Every Thanksgiving I make the Broccoli with butter and mizithra, its a hit EVERY year!! Safeway carries this cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I had this at a local Italian restaurant and searched for the recipe and found it here! I followed instructions to a Tee and it was just so easy to put together. In fact the butter browns so fast you really need to watch it or it'll burn. I had no problem loacating the Mizithra cheese at a local grocery store. I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
this is sooooo good i make it whenever i can get my hands on some mizithra cheese. because this cheese is pretty salty, i always use unsalted butter .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
LOVE this recipe which is the same way the Spaghetti Factory makes it. The only problem is that I now live in TX, and there is no Trader Joe's or Spaghetti Factory to buy the Mizithra cheese. Does anyone know where else it can be bought?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes- I got it once at Old Spaghetti Factory and was instantly in love... but I went without for ages because there's no OSF in Alaska and I never realized how easy it was to make! A side note, I had zilch trouble finding Mizithra cheese, which in off-the-road Alaska is a feat: it was in with the specialty cheeses at Fred Meyers. I would advise against telling picky individuals that the cheese is from sheep, though. Make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I have also made this dish with Asiago Cheese instead of Mizithra. Any sharp cheese can be substituted. Very good with chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My yiayia used to make this Greek "macaronia" all the time! It's a favorite family stand-by. Grated parmesan works okay if you can't find mizithra. The secret lies in browning the butter well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I love pasta in brown butter. Instead of buying expensive cheese, I use cottage cheese with some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My boyfriend and I love going to a local Greek restaurant and he always orders this dish. I was so excited to try this recipe and it absolutely did not disappoint. Delicious and perfect just the way it is written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States