Mizeria (Polish Cucumber Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this dish for my Polished themed Christmas eve dinner. It was a huge hit and everyone raved about.I was extremely happy with the results of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Better after about 6 hours chill time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by impellizzeri kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was great! Reminded me of my grandma's cucumbers. She made them often for Sunday dinners. I added just a bit of sliced green onions as she would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Cucumber salad is one of my favorite side dishes. This one caught my eye because of its simple seasonings and because it didn't include sugar. The only step I left out was to salt the cucumbers first to remove the liquid because I like my cucumber salad nice and juicy. Nor would I want to take the chance of the cucumbers ending up too salty, even after rinsing them. The lemon juice instead of vinegar made for a very light, refreshing salad with just the right balance of tanginess and creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a classic cuke recipe for me. I personally like to add a few dashes of red wine vinegar to balance the other ingredients. The dill really makes it special as well. THis also works well with English cucumbers I have found. Don't peel them. Draining the water from the standard cukes is paramount or they will be very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rokyrakune
Home Town: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I make this frequently BUT I use plain Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream (less calories) and add chopped onion. It's great served as a side dish with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I've never squeezed liquid from the cucumber before so I didn't do that. This was a nice way to have cucumbers. Will make again. Thanks veggie mommy, I forgot how good cukes and sour cream was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My mom made this all the time.....I had no idea it had Polish origins(like me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I really liked that these werent loaded down with mayo or even sour cream. However, the amounts were so vague. I used 1 large peeled English cucumber. For the salt I tried 1/4 tsp. It yielded a scant 1/4 tsp of water. I thought they tasted to salty and briefly rinsed them. In either case make sure to dry them very well, as to not water down the sour cream. I only had dry dill and used a 1/2 tsp. That seemed like a fine amount. If I make again I will skip the salting part and just add salt to taste. It gave the cucumbers too much of a limp texture, unless fresh garden cucumbers work best with this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I've made (and eaten) this since I was a kid. The only changes I make is to omit the sugar and substitute garlic salt for the regular salt. I absolutely love it...cool and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States