Mixed Fruit Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2001
Everything was good, especially the crumb topping. However, the granny smith apples aren't the best choice. Probably a Cortland or Macintosh apple would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was GREAT! I left out the apples and used about 5 very ripe bananas, and about 6 peaches. I did not need to add any water to the fruit mix. I added coconut to the crumble as someone else suggested. Everyone thought the banana/peach crisp was very unique and the flavours blended together beautifully. I have already made 2 more (and have requests from friends and family for more).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Excellent! My family loved this. I used 2 little packs of instant Raisin and Spice oatmeal instead of plain oats and it came out just as wonderful. A scoop of vanilla ice cream and it was heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this with frozen peaches and frozen blueberries and it was very good. Even better heated up that night with ice cream. Thanks for sharing such a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Used this recipe as my guide, but had to make a few changes based on the items I had on hand. I only had canned peaches & fresh nectarines. I put 2 cans of peaches in the baking dish, 1 with the juice, the other one drained, & added 2 fresh nectarines (sliced). I made the topping as instructed, but just before sprinkling over the fruit I mixed in about 1/2 cup of shredded coconut. Came out delicious!! Thanks for a great base recipe...one I'll have fun playing with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roebling, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Smells great baking. I agree with JosieV's comment regarding using Granny Smith apples; I even used (1) sweeter apple to balance it and the Granny's were still way too noticably tart. The crumb topping was just a bit disappointing, too. I haven't had much experience with crumb toppings, but this seemed too dry to me. Probably needed more butter. However, I will make again this way because it was pretty healthy and still had four star flavor. And Shelley H. is right: it CRIES OUT for vanilla ice cream. I opted for Fat Free frozen topping (did not thaw) to keep the fat calories down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I concur with others, this is a great way to use the fruit before it's to late. I used apricots, apples, nectarines, banana, blueberries & peaches. I did however, leave out the water as I had fruit that was pretty soft and very juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teppa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
This was very good, I would recommend it to any one of my friends. I was suprised though about the banana but it was just another added flavor. Only thing i did diffrent was add 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and allspice since i did not have cinnamon. Next time i will try it with the cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Yum! What a great way to use up fruit that's about to go bad. The only changes I made were I used white peaches instead of regular, MacIntosh apples instead of the Granny Smith and Craisins instead of raisins- only because that's what I had on hand. It turned out great. I was hesitant about adding the 1/4 c. of water to the fruit after reading the reviews, but it was great with it- turns into a nice sauce. I love the addition of the bananas as I had never heard of a fruit crisp using them either. My family loved it. I will experiment with all sorts of fruits with this. Thanks Shelley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was very good without the bananas. We had fresh ripe peaches off the tree and blueberries right off the farm, and wasn't sure about the bananas. Will try the bananas when I make this with canned/frozen fruit. Great lowfat/cholesterol dessert warm with a spoon of lowfat cool whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Prairie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States