Mixed Fruit Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Used this recipe as my guide, but had to make a few changes based on the items I had on hand. I only had canned peaches & fresh nectarines. I put 2 cans of peaches in the baking dish, 1 with the juice, the other one drained, & added 2 fresh nectarines (sliced). I made the topping as instructed, but just before sprinkling over the fruit I mixed in about 1/2 cup of shredded coconut. Came out delicious!! Thanks for a great base recipe...one I'll have fun playing with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roebling, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Excellent! My family loved this. I used 2 little packs of instant Raisin and Spice oatmeal instead of plain oats and it came out just as wonderful. A scoop of vanilla ice cream and it was heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
this recipe is the best fruit crisp iv`e ever tasted I want to know how to make it so the fruit doesn`t brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leigh
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
this turned out decent...The choice of using cortland apples for this was a bad one on my part. Granny smith's would have been much better!! I'd suggest making sure the bananas are layered deep within the crisp as well...they taste funny when they dry out a bit and then are mixed with everything else. With some tweaking, this could be fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was very good! I used canned peaches, but otherwise followed the recipe to the "t". Served it with Cinnamon Ice Cream at the Thanksgiving meal, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Having some apples and bananas that were about to go bad, I searched for a recipe to use them up and happily found this one. I thought it would be a little weird with all the fruits, but it was great. Since it was winter, I used canned peaches and I'm sure it'd be better with fresh, but it was still great. Hot from the oven on a winter night with a bit of vanilla bean ice cream, this is ultimate comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was a deliciously, different fruit crisp. I added some dried cherries too since I had some on hand, and used granny smith apples and a sweeter variety. This was delicious warm from the oven. Thank you Shelley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Smells great baking. I agree with JosieV's comment regarding using Granny Smith apples; I even used (1) sweeter apple to balance it and the Granny's were still way too noticably tart. The crumb topping was just a bit disappointing, too. I haven't had much experience with crumb toppings, but this seemed too dry to me. Probably needed more butter. However, I will make again this way because it was pretty healthy and still had four star flavor. And Shelley H. is right: it CRIES OUT for vanilla ice cream. I opted for Fat Free frozen topping (did not thaw) to keep the fat calories down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
This was very good, I would recommend it to any one of my friends. I was suprised though about the banana but it was just another added flavor. Only thing i did diffrent was add 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and allspice since i did not have cinnamon. Next time i will try it with the cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
Everything was good, especially the crumb topping. However, the granny smith apples aren't the best choice. Probably a Cortland or Macintosh apple would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States