Mixed Berry Pie with Honey Whole Wheat Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I was really intrigued by this pie - first, the instructions were originally missing a step so I wasn't so sure about the low ratings previously given this recipe (thanks, AR Staff, for fixing that!), and secondly, the "crust", with the addition of baking powder, is really more like a bread dough. I wasn't sure how that would play out but was interested enough to give it a try. Unfortunately, it makes a better pizza dough than it does a pie crust. I really found myself missing flaky pie crust and instead having thick, chewy bread with the berry filling, that was soggy in some parts (bottom) and tough and chewy in others. I also didn't quite get the whole egg white in the filling thing. Next triple berry pie I make will have floured berries, to thicken the filling a bit, and a regular pie crust, perhaps with some whole wheat flour worked into it. An interesting take on pie, but just not to my liking - sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Corrections were made on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I was confused with this recipe as well. The instructions had me add the 1/2 cup sugar to the crust mix. And then later require a 1/2 cup sugar for the filling mix. Yet the ingredients only call for a 1/2 cup sugar. I like Donna went ahead and combined the honey, ice water and 1/2 cup flour. This recipe diden't work for me at all. I had to ditch the crust all together and tryed to salvage the filling with a store bought crust. After bakeing it, it was like a cobbler. I'm going to keep looking for a mixed berry pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Humboldt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made this just for the pie crust. I did not have all the ingredients for my normal wheat pie crust. Chewy where the filling was, and crisp like a cookie where it wasnt. It was tough to cut through. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I can't rate the crust, because I didn't make it. I really just wanted a mixed berry pie, and this one seemed to fit the bill. I didn't read the reviews before I made it, and I didn't read over the recipe very well first, either. But after I had the filling in the crust, I realized that there was nothing in it to thicken it. Then I went back to the recipe and saw that it called for a TBS of flour, but the directions don't include the flour, so I hadn't included it. Plus, I didn't think 1 TBS of flour was enought, so I just added about a 1/4 cup of flour to the filling, stirred it up as best I could, and baked. It ended up being delicious, and not the least bit runny. Oh, and I used raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries. The recipe as is I would probably rate 1 or 2 stars, but with my crust and flour to thicken, it's fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I am rating the pie filling only! You cannot call a pie crust healthy when it has 5 cups of flour in it, 3 of which are 'white flour'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I also can not rate the crust because I did not use this crust recipe, so my review is on the filling only.....It is very good, my only revision would be to combine the mixture from the stove (sugar, lemon juice, butter, and blueberries) with the other berries that you are using instead of just pouring it over the top. This allows the flour to be distributed over all the berries, to thicken up the juice that comes out of the other berries. I also did not put in an egg white, don't understand the point of it. Hope this helps, Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This was very labor intensive and the crust bombed--more like thick, dry pizza dough...not good...not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States