Mitzie's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Excellent!! Smooth taste! I added portabella mushrooms and scooped the Storganoff onto a baked potato. I am passing around the recipe and will definitely make it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Pretty good recipe, and easy to make. I added a bit of red wine as well, and used herbed cream cheese because that was what I had in the fridge. Taste was quite good! I'll definitely use this recipe as a starting point in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agermanucf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this for the weekly recipe of the week. My family said it was more than a five star recipe. I doubled the recipe since I had 5 to serve, but kept the ground beef to one pound and added in 8 ounces of sliced portabella mushrooms. Served over egg noodles. There wasn't any leftover, since a few had seconds. Certainly a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very good but I have to agree w/sassy that something seemed to be missing, maybe it was the mushrooms that I typically add?! IDK. Anyway, my sauce was "gravy-like" immediately so I just heated thru for a few minutes. It was thick so I think it would've burned go nothingness in an hour's time. Is that a misprint? If I were to make again I'd double the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Recipe Group Selection ~ 29, December 2012 – I’ll admit, I only made this recipe because it was the Recipe Group pick for this week. I grew up with my great-grandmother’s stroganoff using beef not hamburger. Well, I was very pleasantly surprised with this recipe. It was nice and creamy and delicious served over egg noodles. I made a double batch so that we would have leftovers. We actually liked this better the second day; the flavors seemed to be more prominent. The one change I made was in the cooking time. I only let the mixture simmer about 15 minutes rather than 1 hour. I think the recipe would have lost the creaminess if it cooked for the entire hour. Fifteen minutes worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
We loved it I added mushrooms, other then that I changed nothing in this recipe. I will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I really wasn't crazy about this... not sure if it was because it was the ground beef instead of thinly sliced beef? Too heavy on the mushrooms? I don't know... I wanted to love it, but it was meh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandajo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
very good! added mushrooms and a tomato, and used pork instead of beef. otherwise exact to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Yum! Added fresh sliced mushrooms with the onion, and only needed to cook for about 10 minutes before it thickened up. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
* The original instructions said UP TO one hour. I don't do it for that long, but Mitzie doubles this recipe and that might be why she says "up to one hour". I'm pleased people enjoyed it, and by all means add/subtract stuff to taste. Mitzie did originally call for fresh mushrooms but I don't like those so I tweaked it myself. Make it fit YOUR family -- Mitzie and I sure won't mind :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States