Mitzie's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Excellent!! Smooth taste! I added portabella mushrooms and scooped the Storganoff onto a baked potato. I am passing around the recipe and will definitely make it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this for the weekly recipe of the week. My family said it was more than a five star recipe. I doubled the recipe since I had 5 to serve, but kept the ground beef to one pound and added in 8 ounces of sliced portabella mushrooms. Served over egg noodles. There wasn't any leftover, since a few had seconds. Certainly a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
* The original instructions said UP TO one hour. I don't do it for that long, but Mitzie doubles this recipe and that might be why she says "up to one hour". I'm pleased people enjoyed it, and by all means add/subtract stuff to taste. Mitzie did originally call for fresh mushrooms but I don't like those so I tweaked it myself. Make it fit YOUR family -- Mitzie and I sure won't mind :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Pretty good recipe, and easy to make. I added a bit of red wine as well, and used herbed cream cheese because that was what I had in the fridge. Taste was quite good! I'll definitely use this recipe as a starting point in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy German

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I was looking for a stroganoff recipe that didn't call for "cream of..." And this was perfect! Great flavor! I only simmered for 10-15 min while my noodles were cooking. It was a bit thick so I had to add milk to thin it down so next time I'll use a little less flour (maybe 2T.). Picky kids and hubby all ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very good but I have to agree w/sassy that something seemed to be missing, maybe it was the mushrooms that I typically add?! IDK. Anyway, my sauce was "gravy-like" immediately so I just heated thru for a few minutes. It was thick so I think it would've burned go nothingness in an hour's time. Is that a misprint? If I were to make again I'd double the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Yum! Added fresh sliced mushrooms with the onion, and only needed to cook for about 10 minutes before it thickened up. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! To me it was like a "Hamburger Helper" meal but so so so much better because it is made with real and fresh ingredients. Easy to put together and I did add a small can of sliced mushrooms, left the meat cook for about 1/2 hour on very low with the lid on and did add about 1/2 c. more broth to make sure I had enough sauce (love sauce). Added the sour cream and cream cheese right before serving and had a fabulous meal. When making meals that call for broth I do not use salt but do add to taste some boullion so not only do I add salt but more flavor too. Thanks Jarrie! This recipe is a keeper for me. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*) #Update# - had leftovers for lunch over toast served like an hot open faced sandwich and liked it even better than having it over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Recipe Group Selection ~ 29, December 2012 – I’ll admit, I only made this recipe because it was the Recipe Group pick for this week. I grew up with my great-grandmother’s stroganoff using beef not hamburger. Well, I was very pleasantly surprised with this recipe. It was nice and creamy and delicious served over egg noodles. I made a double batch so that we would have leftovers. We actually liked this better the second day; the flavors seemed to be more prominent. The one change I made was in the cooking time. I only let the mixture simmer about 15 minutes rather than 1 hour. I think the recipe would have lost the creaminess if it cooked for the entire hour. Fifteen minutes worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. Easy to make, good flavor, but missing a little something. I did not cook this for the hour. It would have been seriously dried out by that time. After you make the roux, it only needs about 10 minutes to cook out the flour. Satisfied hubby's craving for beefy creamy noodles. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Simple Beef Stroganoff

A quick and easy dinner recipe with beef and noodles in a creamy mushroom sauce.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States