Mitzie's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Yum! Added fresh sliced mushrooms with the onion, and only needed to cook for about 10 minutes before it thickened up. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Very good recipe. I will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This recipe was a great starting point - I made a few modifications based on likes/dislikes of ingredients and what I had on hand. I used shallots instead of onions, beef boullion instead of broth (but will add more water next time as it came out a bit too salty with regular dilution), left out the sour cream (as I didn't have any on hand), and added frozen peas in the last 5 minutes of cooking. I served this over baked potatoes, as suggested in previous reviews, and my whole family loved it! It definitely did not need 1 hour of cooking time - more like 20-25 minutes. This was a delicious, quick and easy complete meal that was great for a busy weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
* The original instructions said UP TO one hour. I don't do it for that long, but Mitzie doubles this recipe and that might be why she says "up to one hour". I'm pleased people enjoyed it, and by all means add/subtract stuff to taste. Mitzie did originally call for fresh mushrooms but I don't like those so I tweaked it myself. Make it fit YOUR family -- Mitzie and I sure won't mind :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
DEE-LISH! The mustard gave it that extra little twang that was so subtle, yet so important to the overall flavor of this dish. I doubled the sour cream and omitted the cream cheese (as I didn't have any on hand) and I added a few splashed of white wine for another level of flavor. Oh, and fresh mushrooms. It was fabulous! Surprisningly decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I was very satisfied with this recipe. I followed exactly but didnt have beef broth used veggie broth and it was still very good, can only imagine it with beef broth and will use that next time for sure. The cooking for an hour is a bit much I cooked about 20 mins and it was perfect. Next time I will try adding mushrooms, cause that sounds good and maybe a splash of wine... Thanks, will be a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! To me it was like a "Hamburger Helper" meal but so so so much better because it is made with real and fresh ingredients. Easy to put together and I did add a small can of sliced mushrooms, left the meat cook for about 1/2 hour on very low with the lid on and did add about 1/2 c. more broth to make sure I had enough sauce (love sauce). Added the sour cream and cream cheese right before serving and had a fabulous meal. When making meals that call for broth I do not use salt but do add to taste some boullion so not only do I add salt but more flavor too. Thanks Jarrie! This recipe is a keeper for me. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*) #Update# - had leftovers for lunch over toast served like an hot open faced sandwich and liked it even better than having it over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this for the weekly recipe of the week. My family said it was more than a five star recipe. I doubled the recipe since I had 5 to serve, but kept the ground beef to one pound and added in 8 ounces of sliced portabella mushrooms. Served over egg noodles. There wasn't any leftover, since a few had seconds. Certainly a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Recipe group selection of 12/29/12. This seemed like a very good start. That small bit of tomato in my usual recipe does add quite a bit to the flavor and of course the mushrooms. I am not a big fan of cream cheese so I eliminated that and increased the sour cream to 1/2 a cup and just cooked it until it reached the right consistency. I also cut back on the flour to about 2 tbs. Thanks for sharing, Jarrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very good but I have to agree w/sassy that something seemed to be missing, maybe it was the mushrooms that I typically add?! IDK. Anyway, my sauce was "gravy-like" immediately so I just heated thru for a few minutes. It was thick so I think it would've burned go nothingness in an hour's time. Is that a misprint? If I were to make again I'd double the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States