Missy's Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was good, but needed more cheese on top. I used ground turkey because that is what I had on hand. Could do without the bread crumbs. That gave the cheese filling a different texture that I didn't care for. Also needs garlic somewhere. Next time I'll add some with the meat, onion, and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Bland. Not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is a basic lasagna recipe. It's an excellent starting point, but made as written, it needs some serious help to be called impressive. With only plain tomato sauce, onion and green pepper, it is missing key spices to make it have that true Italian taste. Also, the addition of the bread crumbs to the cheese mixture, give it an odd texture, instead of a creamy one, that you don't normally expect in lasagna. Overall, this recipe is mediocre, at best. However, the good bones are there to give it potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
NOTE: "slightly custom" review: Nice, simple recipe which is why I chose it. And the good ratings, of course. I am basing my rating on quantity of ingredients. Could have used a half lb more meat) and at least 50 percent more cheese mixture. If doing this, I would 8 oz more tomato sauce as well. The dish came out moist (unlike other reviews) but the edges were very dry due to lack of coverage. I will note (as above, the custom aspect): I used lean ground turkey as it was all that was defrosted. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned (just sauteed them first) and added chopped up three cloves of garlic. Lack of garlic seemed like an odd omission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Xtremely bland...what was I thinking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I never pre-cook my lasagna noddles and I don't buy any special noodles. I use regular plain lasagna noodles. I do add a little extra sauce and the noodles cook as the lasagna cooks. I have been doing this for 40 years and my lasagna always comes out perfect.....and it is a huge time saver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I agree with Josyln H. Don't review so harshly if you haven't even tried it. You could add polite suggestions but the "ew" part of one review was uncalled for. I, for example, do not like cottage cheese or bell pepper, so I simply wouldn't add it. I found the addition of bread crumbs to be inventive and I WILL try that. To another reviewer, the reason your noodles didn't cook is probably because you didn't buy the lasagna noodles which specify "No Cooking Needed". All in all, this is a delicious recipe and I believe the canned mushrooms were for ease in preparation so there is no need for slicing and sauteing. Missy, this recipe is wonderful. It's a nice change from the one I'd been making for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Easy and good. Can add more spice if you like or use jarred spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce but remember the bread crumbs you add to the cheese mixture are Italian seasoned. Delcious as is. Thanks Missy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This recipe has a good base, but definetly needs some spices and herbs eg. garlic, basil, oregano, salt and pepper. and more sauce if using oven-ready noodles, or add some wine to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Fehr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
So bland and the noodles were uncooked. The end product could have done without the dried bread crumbs... they took moisture away from the recipe when it needed it. Would definitely add some herbs next time - basil garlic oregano and salt and pepper for sure. This recipe really fell short. Plus why used canned mushrooms ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States