Missy's Candied Walnut Gorgonzola Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This i a great little salad that looks really impressive when you take it to potlucks or make it for house guests, even though it's completely easy to make! I have played around with different cheeses in this salad, and montchevre goat cheese is my favorite so far--it's crumbly, yet creamy and smooth. I also like to add julienned apples or pears, and fresh blueberries to the mix, for added color and flavor. I have also found that I should make extra candied nuts, because I tend to snack on them before I put them on top of the salad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I make this all the time...it's a great salad...very refreshing. I've also added slided bosc pears to the salad which gives it a nice taste. Sometimes I switch out gorgonzola for feta to change it up...very good salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I've made this a bunch of ways but prefer candied pecans instead of walnuts and have successfully subbed blue cheese instead of gorgonzola. Plan to serve for a Christmas dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Fabulous! Few tweaks - used plain rasp vinagrette, spring mix for the greens, and I used pecans and didn't let the sugar turn completely into syrup - instead removed them from heat after clumps of crystallized sugar formed on the pecans - more texture. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Awesome salad. I tried to make my own rasp vinagrette dressing, but don't waste your time - use store bought raspberry vinagrette (I used Ole Cape Cod version). The walnuts were an awesome addition. (be careful they get super hot in the pan) I did however add very thinly sliced red onion to the salad to cut back on the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very tasty. I have made this salad twice now. It is good with spinach as well. Re: the gorgonzola, I would recommend using domestic rather than imported as imported tends to be creamier and less clumpy and therefore does not incorporate as evenly into the salad. Also, I found the candied walnuts to be a bit sweet and would probably in the future make it using 1/2 cup walnuts and a little less than 1/4 cup sugar. Overall, an excellent, elegant salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soquel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was a great recipe. I had never candied walnuts before and they were easy and delicious! I simplified htis by just using a Kraft pre-made raspberry vinaigrette and skipped the oil and vinegar. Otherwise I kept all the other ingredients the same. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
We all loved this salad. It's so simple to make--and can be kept exactly the same or changed to fit your personal preference, current grocery supply, or whatever. I used dried cherries instead of cranberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I found the secret to getting my boyfriend to eat AND love salads: CANDIED WALNUTS. Mmmmm... this was a great salad! Will make it many more times. Wouldn't change a thing about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I have had this salad at an upscale resturant. It was so good I had to go home and recreate. I use dried cherries instead of cranberries and use Poppyseed dressing as a quick substitute for the vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States