Missy's Candied Walnut Gorgonzola Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very festive. Made a great holiday salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was a very tasty salad that I made for Christmas dinner and my husband actually commented on what a good-looking salad it was. I, too, used pecans (mainly because I had a two pound bag of 'em sitting around; I do like them but I'm sure walnuts would also be delicious) and I just bought a pre-made vinaigrette. As another reviewer stated, I only melted the sugar long enough for it to be glazed and dotted with bumpy sugary bits on them mostly out of laziness...it was taking too long to fully melt. VERY tasty. Had some nuts left over and could not stop popping them into my mouth. My only advice to you would be this: sugar that is in the process of melting is HOT. And it's STICKY. So if a nut flies out of your pan while you're stirring them, RESIST THE URGE to pick it up off the stove and throw it back in the pan. It WILL stick to your finger(s) and BURN them severely. I speak from experience. So please allow me to serve as an example of what not to do. Otherwise, thoroughly delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was a great salad and super simple. This is one that will impress company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Super good and fast to make! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was very simple and I really liked the combination of flavors. I made it with pecans, but I'm sure I would like walnuts just as much. I just used bottled raspberry dressing and added a bit of red onion for zip. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe Dan
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This came out great!! I had to use Blue Cheese instead of Gorgonzola since I could not find it but it came out awesome anyways. Also, make sure the heat is low or medium before placing the sugar on the skillet. I put the sugar and walnuts on a skillet that was a bit too hot and it just made a smoky mess. The next time I tried it I made sure to turn the heat a lot lower first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is one amazing salad! The sweetness of the candied walnuts, the tang of the cranberries and vinaigrette and the bite of the blue cheese are contrasts that all worked beautifully together. These delicious flavors just pop in your mouth with every wonderful bite. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
The best salad. But Next time: Use half the amount of sugar Add bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leon The Lion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Delicious! My first time making candied nuts, next time I'll start melting the sugar and then toss the nuts in, instead of adding them at the same time. I had problems with clumps of sugar sticking to the nuts and not melting. And this salad doesn't keep well, so you should put it all together within an hour of serving and be prepared to toss it after a few hours out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very good salad, sweet, crunchy. Gorganzol makes a little creamy, and tangy from raspberry vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States