Missy's Candied Walnut Gorgonzola Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Made this for a potluck in a huge bowl, equivalent to 30 servings. Only 22 people showed and the salad still got eaten. I probably ate 3 servings myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stiritup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Amazing salad! I used goat cheese instead just beacause I already had some on hand. My husband asks for this salad frequently now. I am still trying to master the walnuts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very festive. Made a great holiday salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was a very tasty salad that I made for Christmas dinner and my husband actually commented on what a good-looking salad it was. I, too, used pecans (mainly because I had a two pound bag of 'em sitting around; I do like them but I'm sure walnuts would also be delicious) and I just bought a pre-made vinaigrette. As another reviewer stated, I only melted the sugar long enough for it to be glazed and dotted with bumpy sugary bits on them mostly out of laziness...it was taking too long to fully melt. VERY tasty. Had some nuts left over and could not stop popping them into my mouth. My only advice to you would be this: sugar that is in the process of melting is HOT. And it's STICKY. So if a nut flies out of your pan while you're stirring them, RESIST THE URGE to pick it up off the stove and throw it back in the pan. It WILL stick to your finger(s) and BURN them severely. I speak from experience. So please allow me to serve as an example of what not to do. Otherwise, thoroughly delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was a great salad and super simple. This is one that will impress company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Super good and fast to make! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was very simple and I really liked the combination of flavors. I made it with pecans, but I'm sure I would like walnuts just as much. I just used bottled raspberry dressing and added a bit of red onion for zip. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe Dan
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This came out great!! I had to use Blue Cheese instead of Gorgonzola since I could not find it but it came out awesome anyways. Also, make sure the heat is low or medium before placing the sugar on the skillet. I put the sugar and walnuts on a skillet that was a bit too hot and it just made a smoky mess. The next time I tried it I made sure to turn the heat a lot lower first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is one amazing salad! The sweetness of the candied walnuts, the tang of the cranberries and vinaigrette and the bite of the blue cheese are contrasts that all worked beautifully together. These delicious flavors just pop in your mouth with every wonderful bite. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States