Missy's Candied Walnut Gorgonzola Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I basically make this salad for every party I attend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This salad was great! We used dried blueberries in place of the dried cranberries and threw a little bit of chilled chicken on top to make into an entree. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I served this salad for eight guests last weekend - they loved it! They all went back for seconds. I am making this again for my daughter for lunch today. I added slices of pears and apple to the salad also. There was the sweetness from the fruits but the bite from the cheese. All tastes came together. I did use wild rocket salad mix, American and European blends of lettuces and also added some cress. The different flavors from these also added a great taste. I used bottled raspberry dressing. This was an awesome salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good salad. We used pecans in stead of walnuts, personal preference. No need for vinegar and olive oil if you like your raspberry vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love, the porters

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this for a dinner party. Everyone loved it. I added shredded carrots which tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This salad is good, however, it's the walnuts that are DELICIOUS! They were so yummy that I made a huge batch of them, bagged them, and gave them out as gifts. Everyone loved them. Much , much cheaper than the ones in the grocery stores. They taste great sprinkled on ice cream, yogurt or to just snack on. Four stars for the salad, but 5 stars for the walnuts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This salad is awesome-- and I'm not a salad lover. The candied walnuts made it a hit, my family can't get enough. I just used feta cheese instead of Gorgonzola-- still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
EVERYONE loved this salad. The biggest rec' I can make is to melt your sugar by itself and add the walnut/pecans after the sugar has melted. I used pecans and they over cooked while in with the sugar. All and all a FABULOUS salad! I skipped the white vinegar and it was great...not a bite left at our dinner party. While I was doing the dishes and wanting to clean the bowl, my friends were still putting their forks in to finish the salad off. RAVE reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I didn't have walnuts, but used pecans. The nuts weren't getting "candied" fast enough (sugar wasn't dissolving), so I added a little light corn syrup which worked great. I happened upon a dip called "Cranberry Celebration" which is cranberries, pineapple & walnuts sort of gelatinized together, so I plopped little bits of that on and tossed, it was easy and great. My raspberry vinaigrette has walnuts in it, too. My guests cleaned the bowl! Not one leaf was left, it was a huge hit. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
this was a great dish with a nice cup of soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States