Missy's Candied Walnut Gorgonzola Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
OMG this was amazing! Did not change a thing, the proportions were perfect. As suggested by some reviewers, used Ole Cape Cod Raspberry Vinaigrette and Craisins for the dried cranberries. Note that the candied walnuts do take about five minutes to get going! Excellent, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Really enjoyed the candied nuts, but the cheese was way too bold for this light salad. I think maybe a feta cheese would have been nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niget2002
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Amazing salad! Gets rave reviews every time! I just doubled the dressing and have used both pecans and walnuts: definitely prefer the pecans. This would be a great holiday salad. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is one of my favorite salads to make. I also use Light Balsamic Vinegar dressing (if not in the mood for a fruit dressing) and add some raspberries to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is awesome and so easy! I buy already candied walnuts or pecans from the store for extra ease and used a couple of different kinds of feta different times. Also I made my own dressing once with cider, olive oil and lemon juice and another time with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, lemon juice and sprinkling of cayenne pepper. I would recommend not drenching it in dressing and making it overly oily as it is super good without too much. I have no idea where to buy raspberry vinergrette?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
very good, walnuts are very well done,and add alot to the salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I love this recipe! The only thing I changed was to add 1/2 cup of water to the sugar when candying the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Candied nuts, goat cheese and dried cranberries are an AWSOME combination. I used pecans instead of walnuts. I don't care for berry dressings so I made my own. Served this with a Father's day meal and it was a HUGE hit. Dressing included: juice of 4 lemons, couple table spoons of olive oil, couple table spoons of brown sugar, pinch of salt, and a couple cranks of fresh ground pepper. (Basically just add everything to taste.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This salad had a nice variety of different flavors, but I did make several changes. I added 2 strips of crispy bacon, substituted Italian dressing for the raspberry vinaigrette, oil & vinegar, and low fat feta cheese instead of Gorgonzola. The candied walnuts are definitely addicting! My boyfriend even enjoyed this salad, which is rare for him :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States