Missy's Candied Walnut Gorgonzola Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I never had gorgonzola cheese before and I'm not a huge fan. I brought this to Thanksgiving dinner tonight (Canadian) and never received one compliment. I'm giving it 4 stars though because I don't think I enjoyed it because of my own taste preferences. The candied walnuts were sooooo good..although next time I will try a syrup on them and then roast them in the oven to prevent the sugar clumping together. I also agree that you don't need nearly the amount of sugar called for. Thanx for introducing me to candies walnuts these will be amazing on all my salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fabulous!! So easy to candy the walnuts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~chele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Simple and easy salad to make. I added some sliced mushrooms and some sliced peaches to the salad. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
So easy, and sooo delicious!! I had read previous reviews about this salad and decided that candying the walnuts on my own might not have turned out so good, so i just purchased some pre-candied walnuts from the produce department. It turned out awesome, and was even easier to prepare!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
AMAZING and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was a good change from a regular salad. Word of warning, be careful when doing the walnuts...if you cook them too long they will give off a slightly burned aroma and they will end up tasting like popcorn or cracker jacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
sugar crystallized when I tried to candy the walnuts creating rock hard teeth breaker bits. I stirred constantly as directed... but that can't be right. good, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Good salad, except for the candied nuts!!! Next time I will make this with pecans or slivered almonds. The sweetness of the sugared walnuts, along with the cranberries was overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
WHOA! This was sooo good and simple to make. Addicting in fact, will make again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crewshome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
OMG this was amazing! Did not change a thing, the proportions were perfect. As suggested by some reviewers, used Ole Cape Cod Raspberry Vinaigrette and Craisins for the dried cranberries. Note that the candied walnuts do take about five minutes to get going! Excellent, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States