Mississippi Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
This is a delicious cookie. My mother used to make "tea cakes" and this recipe is very close to hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
These tea cakes taste just like the ones my grandmother used to make. I put a pecan half on top of each cookie like Granny did. My Dad loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
This is a very simple cookie, but the texture is fantastic -- it literally melts in your mouth. Instead of using 1 tsp vanilla, I used 3/4 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp almond extract, which, I think, worked out very well. Overall, a delightfully soft, sweet cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
I made them for a friend who had been longing for his grandmothers tea cakes for about 3 years. He loved them!!! They were so easy to make & taste wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I passed this recipe on to my sister to bake for a dessert social and they turned out great! She had to bake up a second batch for the guests, since we couldn't stop eating them fresh out of the oven :-) Very soft...unlike the must-be-dunked kind I ate as a kid. Try adding 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg for an extra kick of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Excellent served fresh from the oven with a big glass of milk - my, oh my! Better make 2 batches next time. These are just like Grandma used to make. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I have tried other tea cake recipes, this one was quick, easy, and tasted great. It reminded my grandmother of the tea cakes she used to make. Thank you for allowing me to help my grandmother remember the good times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I rolled these into individual balls, flattened them with the palm of my hand, then put m&m's on top of them. They came out delicious, like the same kind of m&m cookies I buy at Mrs. Field's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
These are the softest cookies I've made yet. I made 1/2 the recipe as we already had other cookies. My dough was very flimsy or limp, so couldn't roll it into balls as I wanted. This is definitly one of my new favorite recipes. I mean the texture is so soft!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Well..it just doesn't get any better than this! I was craving a sweet snack while pulling an all night studying session but unable to get to the store. It's not very often that I can find a good recipe that doesn't require that I make special trips to the market. Not until this recipe! I never would have thought that something so simple would turn out so fantastic! This is the best cookie recipe I have ever tried. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKSHMI5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States