Mississippi Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
these are better than my grandmother's recipe, the trick is to use nutmeg for a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
From another Mississippian - WONDERFUL RECIPE, just like my Big Mama (my great grandmother)made. She lived till she was 106 years old, and made these until she left us. I have been trying to make by memory and they never tasted like hers, THANKS for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These cookies are VERY easy to make, and delicious. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and they were very similar to Snickerdoodles. Next time I am going to make as-is but put M&M's on top as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
WOW- sooo good. It is exactly what the name says: little cookie-shaped cakes. They get even cakier and moist the next day. It's the perfect sweetness too. Great little cake cookies that truly is perfect with tea. So simple and so good. Hint- don't substitute the buttermilk or else you won't get the fluffy, airy texture. They are unbelievable right out of the oven - I usually devour 3 while still warm. I've also added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon for a great variation. **Update** I substituted regular sour cream in place of the buttermilk in a pinch the cookies turned out divine. A little different from having the buttermilk. The cookie was super-rich and a little denser versus the light airiness you get from the buttermilk. It held up very well and made a slightly thicker cookie. A great variation if you want something toothier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Hot out of the oven, these were amazing. Once cooled the next day not so great. Kind of too soft and cake-like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Oh my goodness, these cookeis are so good! I made myself refrain from eating the dough but I can't stop eating the cookies. I used powdered buttermilk but I couldn't tell that it made any difference. I had a wave of nostalgia because these taste so much like the rolled sugar cookies that I used to make for my daughter when she was younger. Brought back many happy memories. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This is an easy recipe and the tea cakes were soft and delicious. I did add a 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and used parchment paper instead of a greased cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Good basic tea cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This is a very good, very simple recipe...Just what a TEA CAKE is supposed to taste like! It's fine as is, but can also take spices (nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon, ginger, cloves - tastes like eggnog!) nuts, chopped candied fruit, you name it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
The texture of these cookies is fantastic. Great with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States