Mississippi Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Nice simple sugar cookie. I will be making this one with my grandaughter for years to come.Easy enough for children to make with success each time. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Oh my heaven's these are wonderful. I split my batter (not adding in extracts until after the split). Half of the batter contained lemon extract and some lemon zest. The other half I added vanilla and almond extracts. These are just so light, and soft and just perfect with a glass of ice tea on this hot summer day! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
These are delicious little cakes that go perfectly with tea. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon cause I love it. They need to be eaten within a day or two though, they don't keep very long. Simply yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This reminds me so much of my grandmother's teacakes it's scary! They're sinfully good, though. Especially the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
these are better than my grandmother's recipe, the trick is to use nutmeg for a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
From another Mississippian - WONDERFUL RECIPE, just like my Big Mama (my great grandmother)made. She lived till she was 106 years old, and made these until she left us. I have been trying to make by memory and they never tasted like hers, THANKS for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These cookies are VERY easy to make, and delicious. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and they were very similar to Snickerdoodles. Next time I am going to make as-is but put M&M's on top as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
WOW- sooo good. It is exactly what the name says: little cookie-shaped cakes. They get even cakier and moist the next day. It's the perfect sweetness too. Great little cake cookies that truly is perfect with tea. So simple and so good. Hint- don't substitute the buttermilk or else you won't get the fluffy, airy texture. They are unbelievable right out of the oven - I usually devour 3 while still warm. I've also added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon for a great variation. **Update** I substituted regular sour cream in place of the buttermilk in a pinch the cookies turned out divine. A little different from having the buttermilk. The cookie was super-rich and a little denser versus the light airiness you get from the buttermilk. It held up very well and made a slightly thicker cookie. A great variation if you want something toothier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Hot out of the oven, these were amazing. Once cooled the next day not so great. Kind of too soft and cake-like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Oh my goodness, these cookeis are so good! I made myself refrain from eating the dough but I can't stop eating the cookies. I used powdered buttermilk but I couldn't tell that it made any difference. I had a wave of nostalgia because these taste so much like the rolled sugar cookies that I used to make for my daughter when she was younger. Brought back many happy memories. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States