Mississippi Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I was looking for something easy to make to go with hot chocolate and this was it. These were really, really good. "Perfect amount of crispy edge with a nice tender, flavorful middle," says my wife. I will be making these again. TIP: For novice cookie bakers, put no more than a large marble-sized amount on a spoon and drop onto cookie sheet; these are hard to roll into a ball so I didn't even try. (Also, I didn't know the rule about getting the cookies off the cookie sheet after five minutes before putting on rack to cool, so some broke on me for that reason.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These cookies were exceptional!!!! I followed the recipe but added 1 extra Tablespoon of flour AND 1/2 teaspoon of Almond extract plus the vanilla extract. WOW!!! They were a hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza+Mum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I made these with the hope that they would turn out like my mom's cookies -- cake-like and moist. These turned out like soft sugar cookies. There was no cake-like texture at all. I kept going over and over the recipe wondering if I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe exactly and can't understand why they didn't turn out like most of the other reviewers describe. I do a lot of cookie baking and this is the most disappointing batch I've ever made. Maybe my expectations were too high. It's a shame my mom lost her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
It is soft and crunchy at the same time. The recipe is supereasy and the taste five stars. A must make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Perfect, just like I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I only just made them and I've eaten 4 of them already. They taste like a soft, chewy, cripsy on the edges vanilla cake. Wish I had some tea but I don't think I can wait that long. I used a cookie scoop which worked fine but it makes the cookie look bumpy. The last batch I smoothed out the scoops with my spatula and they look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Good flavor, cake-like cookie. Sweet, but pleasantly simple. Might be good for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I found these to be too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Love these! Easy to prepare, light flavor, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Delicious! Light, fluffy and subtle on taste. Perfect definition of "tea cake". I made the really basic recipe, but I think the next time I bake them, I'll play around with adding lemon/orange zest, cinnamon, almond extract or nutmeg. They're so simple. The recipe made exactly three dozen for me, and I even gave into eating a little bit of the dough! Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellysa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States