Mississippi Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Momma Morgan
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Delicious! I made half of the recipe with maple flavoring and that was also good! When my sister tasted the maple flavored ones she said "oh these would be good with syrup!" I had to tell her that it was because she was tasting maple! Its was subtle but there. Sooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
These were very disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly, and ten minutes in the oven was definitely not enough time for me. They ended up being extremely moist and fragile, and they were too sweet. Nobody had a second when I served them with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
We all loved this! Thanks for the recipe. It went great with my almond tea. I think next time I'll use almond extract just to see how it is with the almond tea. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Burks Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Awesome cookies - followed the recipe exactly and ended up making three batches in a week for friends and coworkers. Great way to use up that extra buttermilk in the fridge, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Mighty tasty, indeed. I first heard of teacakes in a comedy routine of the late, great Jerry Clower from Mississippi, a hilarious story about a Catahoula Cur Dog and 2 boys. I have a Catahoula, but wondered "what's a tea cake?". Now I know. And I know why that boy wrestled that dog to get it back!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
They taste like little clouds, just a little bit too sweet for us. Also had to double the buttermilk. Definitely will make them again, next time with some orange juice or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This recipe is good but not like the one I remember growing up in the south. This is the best recipe I have tired so far, but it is too sweet and could use a slight less butter. I will make them again but with some slight changes. I also added 1 tsp of lemon flavoring and 1/2 tsp of vanilla, with 1/2 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Very bland. I was disappointed. Even for a tea cookie. I tried experimenting in small batches by adding in a wide range of "chips" and got nothing. *Not worth the calories, is another way of putting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very Good! I used 3/4 tsp. of vanilla and 1/4 tsp. of almond extract with a few sprinkles of cinnamon. Very tasty cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States