Mississippi Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Great for a no frills cookie. Reminds me of a sugar cookie with less sugar. One of the lightest cookies I have ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My famlly loved this recipe for tea cakes. One bite took me back to when I was a little girl hanging out in the kitchen with my grandmother. Just like grandma made. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Exceptional recipe. Super easy to make and they aren't out of the oven yet but the batter was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzBec10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Enjoyed these with a French vanilla coffee. Very good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
A great, simple cookie--kind of like a sugar cookie, but less sweet and a little more dense. Great with tea, as the name would suggest. I followed the recipe exactly, and in my oven the cookies took between 10-12 minutes to bake; I pulled them just as the edges started to turn brown, and that was perfect. I used a small ice cream scoop to make the cookies, and got about 20-24 pieces. Recipe is super easy to make, and the best thing is that you can dress it up or down however you please; a great base recipe. I might try nutmeg, cinnamon, and lemon variations on the next few batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My cookies didn''t look a thing like the photo. They were sweet but I think that's because of the sugar substitute. Also, the dough was very thick & hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pavyscott
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was just fab!! I only got around a dozen out of the dough but they were still great. I used margarine instead of butter (its the only thing i bake with) and i left them round before baking in stead of flattening. They where puffy, light and cake like. Just wonderful thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pavyscott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This recipe was awesome. Added some lime and lavender, made some earl grey - even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Echo Ivy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Simply delicious! Very easy to prepare. As I ran out vanilla essence I replaced it with 1.5tsps of lemon essence and added 1tbsp of lemon zest. Took 2 cups of flour I took 3/4C of coarse sugar, It made a huge difference in the texture, more crispier at the top and soft in the inside! 1/3C butter and finally gave an Icing sugar lemon juice, milk glazing. It was just perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
good. light. easy. they puff up and look a little like biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States