Mississippi Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
A great, simple cookie--kind of like a sugar cookie, but less sweet and a little more dense. Great with tea, as the name would suggest. I followed the recipe exactly, and in my oven the cookies took between 10-12 minutes to bake; I pulled them just as the edges started to turn brown, and that was perfect. I used a small ice cream scoop to make the cookies, and got about 20-24 pieces. Recipe is super easy to make, and the best thing is that you can dress it up or down however you please; a great base recipe. I might try nutmeg, cinnamon, and lemon variations on the next few batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My cookies didn''t look a thing like the photo. They were sweet but I think that's because of the sugar substitute. Also, the dough was very thick & hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pavyscott
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was just fab!! I only got around a dozen out of the dough but they were still great. I used margarine instead of butter (its the only thing i bake with) and i left them round before baking in stead of flattening. They where puffy, light and cake like. Just wonderful thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pavyscott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This recipe was awesome. Added some lime and lavender, made some earl grey - even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Echo Ivy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Simply delicious! Very easy to prepare. As I ran out vanilla essence I replaced it with 1.5tsps of lemon essence and added 1tbsp of lemon zest. Took 2 cups of flour I took 3/4C of coarse sugar, It made a huge difference in the texture, more crispier at the top and soft in the inside! 1/3C butter and finally gave an Icing sugar lemon juice, milk glazing. It was just perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
good. light. easy. they puff up and look a little like biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is exactly what i was looking for. In my oven, 10 minutes made the cookie too pale and slightly undercooked. Increased temp to 375 and baked 12 minutes for a darker cookie. It was not too dry. Also added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made some butter from our raw milk, and wanted to use the buttermilk for something. These were good and I will do it again. They are very sweet, so if you so not like sugary cookies you might not favor them. I love them with the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kay Hagen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Oh my goodness! These are SOOO good!!! I added a bit of nutmeg to the flour mixture. I served these with mulled cider for an after school snack... YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma Morgan
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Delicious! I made half of the recipe with maple flavoring and that was also good! When my sister tasted the maple flavored ones she said "oh these would be good with syrup!" I had to tell her that it was because she was tasting maple! Its was subtle but there. Sooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States