Mississippi Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This was my first time hearing about tea cakes! My mother-in-law said she used to make them all the time when my husband was a child. He recalls eating them often & that they were a huge treat. Only change I made to this recipe was adding 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, which according to my mother-in-law, makes this a classic taste. They are light & yummy. I did keep them small according to suggestions & it's a perfect bite. Not too sweet & I cannot imagine the taste without the nutmeg... It's very good! Thank you for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made these w/ brown sugar and Swan Cake flour they are fluffy light and airy. Definitely making them again...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tori
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Great recipe. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paulding, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Wicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Made some change added 1 teaspoon nutmeg and Almond Extract, double the sugar and flour and added 1/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup of buttermilk. Sold all of them @ bake sale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Jacobs
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
These are very delicious. Very soft and fluffy. I followed the recipe to the letter, and don't plan on making any changes. Thank you for this wonderful experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Jacobs
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My husband always mentioned how he liked Tea Cakes so I used this recipe as my first attempt...LOVED IT! I didn't have buttermilk so I used milk/lemon juice substitute. Will become one of my go to desserts now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kayoharper
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Our son made these for us the other day around 1 in the morning, just because he feels like it. It turned out they are so delicious that I had to eat 5 around 2 in the morning, which gave me acid reflux but totally worth it. Nostalgic taste, with very nice amount of sweetness. He added some crushed almonds in it and were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayoharper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Very Tasty. Made these for my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Whites Creek, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Made these with about 2/3 cup craisins - Delicious little soft cookies - simple and tasty. One warning, though - space these cookies with plenty of space on the cookie sheet - this cookie dough is almost a batter - and it spreads a lot. The only reason I took off 1 star is because these cookies were a bit sweet for me. The very simpleness of the recipe makes the shorcoming apparent - and also makes the sweetness almost unbearable. I'd go with 3/4 cups sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States