Mississippi Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angela Jacobs
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
These are very delicious. Very soft and fluffy. I followed the recipe to the letter, and don't plan on making any changes. Thank you for this wonderful experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Jacobs
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My husband always mentioned how he liked Tea Cakes so I used this recipe as my first attempt...LOVED IT! I didn't have buttermilk so I used milk/lemon juice substitute. Will become one of my go to desserts now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kayoharper
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Our son made these for us the other day around 1 in the morning, just because he feels like it. It turned out they are so delicious that I had to eat 5 around 2 in the morning, which gave me acid reflux but totally worth it. Nostalgic taste, with very nice amount of sweetness. He added some crushed almonds in it and were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayoharper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Very Tasty. Made these for my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Whites Creek, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Made these with about 2/3 cup craisins - Delicious little soft cookies - simple and tasty. One warning, though - space these cookies with plenty of space on the cookie sheet - this cookie dough is almost a batter - and it spreads a lot. The only reason I took off 1 star is because these cookies were a bit sweet for me. The very simpleness of the recipe makes the shorcoming apparent - and also makes the sweetness almost unbearable. I'd go with 3/4 cups sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My mom gave me this same recipe many years ago. She's been making them for a couple of decades. They are really good and can be flavored any way you like. We usually chill the batter in the fridge for a few minutes to keep them from spreading too much. We like them a little chewy. Just a good basic tea cake recipe, and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These are awesome! The only thing I did differently was make larger cookies (so this recipe yielded about 15 larger cookies in my case) and subsequently increased the baking time to around 25 minutes so they baked all the way through. They taste very good, look nice, and were very quick and easy to make. I will definitely be making these again and sharing them with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
my husband and brothers love these cookies! I have to make them often to keep them calm. It reminds them of their grandmother. I add a teaspoon of nutmeg to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Easy.. amazing... addictive. My household LOVES these. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Yuck. I have a family of cookie lovers who refused to eat them. I think I put in a little too much baking power but they were just not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States