Mississippi Mud Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this & used toasted (chopped) Pecans! It was delicious! Understatement! Everyone loved it & wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This recipe has been in my family for years and my cousins finally let me know where I could find it for my self. I will say make sure the butter is soft but not melted it blends better, and don't make the crust too thick. You might have to increase the portions at least by half to fit the 9x13 pan. Also to me the walnuts were too overpowering and kind of bitter. I redid the recipe with pecan pieces and I liked it a lot more as well as my family. Also this was my first time using heavy whipping cream and it takes a while to get it whipped up, definitely use a blender. I might use regular whip cream next time and see if I like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I am rating this recipe so low because the measurements for the crust are off! I followed this recipe to the "T" on three different occasions and each time the crust did not come out right. The consistency is off and it's not enough dough to cover a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
tasted sooo good. i had problems with the crust, maybe i didn't let it cool long enough? the white layer wasn't as fluffy as i remember it being, but over all....scrumptious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Love this! I did have to bake the pastry portion a little longer than suggested though. I used a tub of cool whip instead of the whipping cream and added a little vanilla extract to the mixture. I sprinkled pecans and chocolate chips on top. Will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ivanhoe, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
The comment by the picture say pie pan and the directions say 9X13. If you do this with a 9X13 I would double the recipe. I plan to do that and use 2 layers of pudding next time. My family enjoyed sprinkling choc. chips on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving in lieu of French Silk pie. Everyone LOVED it! Following other reviewers' leads, I kept the whipping cream cold...maybe too cold. I popped it into the freezer while the crust was baking and promptly forgot about it. It was half frozen when I removed it, but it melted quickly and whipped well. This is a new family fav!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was just okay. A little bland. I probably will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Just make sure you read the directions carefully and follow them exactly. If you don't want the walnuts, be sure to double the dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Great! Except i used a graham cracker crust, a springform, and no nuts. i folded half the whipped cream into the cream cheese. then i did crust-->pudding-->cream cheese-->pudding-->rest of whipped cream. you chill it really good like over night plus some, then it'll pop out good from the springform if you run a hot knife around the edges. i made a mistake on the pudding on mine tho, i followed the pudding box recipe for pudding and not the pie recipe (which uses less milk) but it was totally fine. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States