Mississippi Mud Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by blackndgirl(Abby)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
We made it just like the recipe says, and it was delicious, even though my little brother complained saying the butterscotch pudding tasted coffee-like. MAKE SURE YOU LET THE PUDDING SIT. I have made pudding before, and in a hurry I had not let it sit at all, I kept mixing continuously. Letting my pudding sit for two minutes while my mom lectured me on how to layer the pie right was the best food technique I've ever learned! It will actually thicken into pudding, instead of how liquidy it looks when you add the two cups of milk. I was also surprised when the crust tasted like brown sugar, though it didn't stick well to the cream-cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackndgirl(Abby)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Excellent! Everyone loved it. I noticed that a few reviews stated that it wouldn't fit in a pie pan, but the recipe states that it should go into a 9x13 pan. I put it in my cake pan and it turned out just right. I will probably add some nuts next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
This recipe was a hit at a family gathering I took it to. It makes two 8" pies. I made one with an Oreo cookie crust and one with a Nilla wafer crust. I folded the Cool Whip into the pudding mixture for the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Easy to make and delicious. Makes enough for two 6 inch ready-made pies crusts. Looks pretty with fudge syrup drizzed over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This recipe is truly the "original" Mississippi mud recipe. My friends from the South always made an extra for our family. We love it and it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I've made this for two occasions now and it was always the first empty dish. Wonderful, sweet, delicious!!! Didn't have butterscotch pudding so vanilla was the substitute. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I am a retired dessert taster for a baking company and this is one of the best mud pie recipes I've tried. It turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I cut this recipe in half so I could prepare in a pre-made graham pie crust. However, I kept the cream cheese as 8 oz to double that ingredient. I mixed the entire 8 oz of cream cheese with the whipped topping and reserved about 1/3 of the mixture for the top layer instead of just having the whipped topping as the top layer. My family LOVED this and I didn't even have a chance to take a leftover piece home to my boyfriend as my Grandma claimed the last piece for herself to keep! Since I have 2 half used instant pudding packets (since I halved recipe), I guess I'll have to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I tried this recipe after my husband had told me to look up a recipe for it, we absolutely loved it and everyone else that has tried it also. You can alter the nuts to go with what you have on hand, and I also bake the crust for about 5 minutes at 350 degrees. It just makes for a somewhat toasted taste. Whether the original recipe or with a few alterations, this is still great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
Quantities listed do not fit in a 9 inch pan. 12 is too many for the number of containers of whipped topping.2 is probably enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States