Mississippi Mud Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was SO good! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for except I put chocolate sprinkles on top. A note: even though it is a "pie" it goes in a 9x13 pan NOT a 9" pie plate- it specifically says that in the directions though I noticed a couple reviewers didn't catch it. VERY good and we will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Nothing exceptional. Tasted like pudding in a pie shell. The kids liked its simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
My pie was AMAZING! Only i did a little sub....for the crust 1c gram. crumbs and 1c vanilla waffers! And i did you 2 butterscotch puddings! It turned out killer!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Lovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
so delicious...I used heavy whipping cream and whipped it into the topping instead of Cool Whip. It was so light and airy. Yum! I also used Oreos, & used vanilla pudding instead of butterscotch, since I don't like butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blackndgirl(Abby)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
We made it just like the recipe says, and it was delicious, even though my little brother complained saying the butterscotch pudding tasted coffee-like. MAKE SURE YOU LET THE PUDDING SIT. I have made pudding before, and in a hurry I had not let it sit at all, I kept mixing continuously. Letting my pudding sit for two minutes while my mom lectured me on how to layer the pie right was the best food technique I've ever learned! It will actually thicken into pudding, instead of how liquidy it looks when you add the two cups of milk. I was also surprised when the crust tasted like brown sugar, though it didn't stick well to the cream-cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackndgirl(Abby)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Rather than white sugar, use powdered sugar and you get a much smoother, granule free mixture. Also a touch of vanilla contributes to the flavor. Other flavorings with the cream cheese portion may be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Loved it! I made it in two 8 inch graham cracker pie crusts and instead of chocolate shavings on top I used chopped pecans and it was delicious! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This recipe is truly the "original" Mississippi mud recipe. My friends from the South always made an extra for our family. We love it and it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
On top of the pudding layer I added Heath toffee chips then put the final layer of whipped topping on- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I tried this recipe after my husband had told me to look up a recipe for it, we absolutely loved it and everyone else that has tried it also. You can alter the nuts to go with what you have on hand, and I also bake the crust for about 5 minutes at 350 degrees. It just makes for a somewhat toasted taste. Whether the original recipe or with a few alterations, this is still great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States