Mississippi Mud Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
My daughter and I loved it and my husband ( who is not a big chocolated fan) loved it, too. I used pecans and I did use 1/2 cup cocoa and only 3 cups confectioners sugar in the frosting. I also spread the frosting on the cake while it was still warm. It was even better the 2nd day. I will make it again. 5 stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was extremely sweet, in fact, too sweet for me. But, I took it to a potluck and everyone else seemed to like it, hence the 4 star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Perfectly wonderful with rave reviews! I used self-rising flour which eliminated the need for baking powder and salt. I toasted the walnuts. This is not a "cake-like" consistency but Mississipi Mud cake isn't supposed to have a cake-like consistency. It's like a very rich brownie covered with melted marshmallows and topped with a wonderful chocolate frosting. We loved it and my daughter said I could do this for her birthday from now on. The richness cries out for a tall glass of cold milk; pure Heaven. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
The marshmallows are not suppose to melt just get soft. After adding marshmallows to top and returning to oven watch carefully, may not need a total of 10 minutes. Don't let the marshmallows brown or the top will be crusty and hard to slice cleanly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Delicious. I made it for my daughter's 20th birthday and because she doesn't care for walnuts and her father's allergic to them, I left them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Great recipe...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
just like mom makes yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is the best, my mom made this when I was growing up. Melts in your mouth!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This cake was a total disaster. Marshmallows didn't melt, but formed a crust on top of cake, that made it tough to cut and chew. No one could eat more than one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I had never baked a cake like this before. My family and friends can't get enough! Everyone requests it for all the holidays and gatherings. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States