Mississippi Mud Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sadutton
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I liked this recipe, though I can't comment on how it is when made exactly as written. I substituted half the butter for applesauce and made a chocolate glaze out of granulated sugar, vanilla, hot chocolate mix, and butter and drenched the top of the cake in it. I also made it in a casserole dish. Brought it to a party and people liked it! Wasn't the best cake ever--I think the cake itself needed more flavor...though I'm not sure what I should adjust for that. More chocolate? Or maybe the applesauce did something? Anyways the cake was fluffy yet moist and good, especially with the addition of the glaze. I can also see how cherries would be yummy in here, as one previous reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Fantastic! Very moist and dense. My Dad tasted the rum but not the coffee. I tasted the coffee but not the rum. I used espresso and it had an intense espresso flavor when it was warm. Cake was gone in two days so I'm not sure how long it would have stayed yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Great chocolate cake! Very moist and rich, one of my favorite chocolate cakes. I dusted the pan with cocoa powder and topped with strawberries. I'm pretty picky about chocolate cake, and this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was deeelishuuuusss. I made for father's day and he loved it, wish I'd thought of the cherries though! Followed the recipe, no changes. Topped with strawberries. I was really worried about how runny it was even though I'd read another submitter had mentioned it but came out fine. This is a keeper and I plan on doing it for 4th July if we can wait that long! Thank you sooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
OMG!!! This is one of the best cakes I have ever made and fairly easy too. I used Captain Morgan spiced rum. It is moist and chocolatey. Many kudos to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Thank you thank you! I found this recip originally in a book of southern recipes and fell in love. Unfortunately over the course of several moves I lost the cookbook and for the life of me couldnt remember the exact amounts. I thought it lost forever until I came across this. Exactly the way I remember it except I always made it with Jim Bean, and instead of flour I dust my bundt pan with cocoa powder. I also always let it cool completely in the pan set up on a wire rack before trying to turn it out. Usually that will keep it from sticking but if not I slice it up, arrange them nicely and dust a little powder sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This cake is wonderfully moist and very good. It's great with a semi-sweet chocolate and rum glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Excellent cake! I made it for a Valentines day treat. I didn't have dark rum, so I used light. Also I had semi-sweet chips, so I used those instead of unsweetened. It came out great! I also invented a fabulous glaze for it after looking in my cupboards: to one cup of powdered sugar add 1/2 t imitation maple extract (gives it a great caramel color), 1 t. rum, and enough cream to give it the desired consistency. It's so sinfully good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I liked this recipe. It is thicker than sponge cake but not as dense or sweet as original mud cake. I followed the recipe to the letter except for increasing the amount of rum to 1/3 cup. Initially I was concerned about the runniness of the batter and thought maybe the amount of coffee mixture was way too much but it turned out quite nice. Baking time took about 15-20 minutes longer than stated and I did increase the temperature to 180 otherwise would have been in the kitchen all day! I let the baking pan rest for about 15 minutes before turning out the cake and it came out without breaking except for a small portion on the top, which I covered up with frosting anyway. Hubby loved it - he loves anything with chocolate - nice served with dollops of thick cream. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States