Mississippi Mud Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This was a very nice cake. I'd vaguely heard of this kind before. I rarely make coffee, and when making it for this cake, I briefly wondered if the "cups" used were the 5-ounce "cups" used by my coffee maker, or the standard 8-ounce liquid measure cups - I used the latter. This was also the first time I'd ever used a tube pan. (I actually bought a 10-inch one for this recipe, but it turned out a little too big, and I think a 9-inch tube pan would suffice.) A toothpick tested clean at 1:20, so I stopped baking at that point. While still warm, the cake was still fairly soft, moist and fudgy. I actually preferred the cake as leftovers, straight from the fridge, or almost room-temperature again, when the cake was firm and richly dense. I can't say that I noticed the rum, but the coffee and chocolate combination was quite tasty. I don't know how this recipe compares with similar ones, but it's worth recommending, in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sadutton
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I liked this recipe, though I can't comment on how it is when made exactly as written. I substituted half the butter for applesauce and made a chocolate glaze out of granulated sugar, vanilla, hot chocolate mix, and butter and drenched the top of the cake in it. I also made it in a casserole dish. Brought it to a party and people liked it! Wasn't the best cake ever--I think the cake itself needed more flavor...though I'm not sure what I should adjust for that. More chocolate? Or maybe the applesauce did something? Anyways the cake was fluffy yet moist and good, especially with the addition of the glaze. I can also see how cherries would be yummy in here, as one previous reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Fantastic! Very moist and dense. My Dad tasted the rum but not the coffee. I tasted the coffee but not the rum. I used espresso and it had an intense espresso flavor when it was warm. Cake was gone in two days so I'm not sure how long it would have stayed yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Great chocolate cake! Very moist and rich, one of my favorite chocolate cakes. I dusted the pan with cocoa powder and topped with strawberries. I'm pretty picky about chocolate cake, and this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was deeelishuuuusss. I made for father's day and he loved it, wish I'd thought of the cherries though! Followed the recipe, no changes. Topped with strawberries. I was really worried about how runny it was even though I'd read another submitter had mentioned it but came out fine. This is a keeper and I plan on doing it for 4th July if we can wait that long! Thank you sooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
OMG!!! This is one of the best cakes I have ever made and fairly easy too. I used Captain Morgan spiced rum. It is moist and chocolatey. Many kudos to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Thank you thank you! I found this recip originally in a book of southern recipes and fell in love. Unfortunately over the course of several moves I lost the cookbook and for the life of me couldnt remember the exact amounts. I thought it lost forever until I came across this. Exactly the way I remember it except I always made it with Jim Bean, and instead of flour I dust my bundt pan with cocoa powder. I also always let it cool completely in the pan set up on a wire rack before trying to turn it out. Usually that will keep it from sticking but if not I slice it up, arrange them nicely and dust a little powder sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This cake is wonderfully moist and very good. It's great with a semi-sweet chocolate and rum glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Excellent cake! I made it for a Valentines day treat. I didn't have dark rum, so I used light. Also I had semi-sweet chips, so I used those instead of unsweetened. It came out great! I also invented a fabulous glaze for it after looking in my cupboards: to one cup of powdered sugar add 1/2 t imitation maple extract (gives it a great caramel color), 1 t. rum, and enough cream to give it the desired consistency. It's so sinfully good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States