Mississippi Mud Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
I made this cake for my husband's birthday and everyone that ate any wanted the recipe. It is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
I have been looking for this recipe for ages! I made a similar cake 'back in the day' for church potlucks. It was always a big hit and goes far as it is very rich. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Absolutley love Mississippi Mud. I've been eating this cake since I was a kid. I had to leave out the nuts since my son doesn't like them and added some large marshmallows the edge of the pan since my cream didn't quite cover it all. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
i think an empty disk tells you how good the recipe is. i don't like marshmallows but i got rave reviews. it is very important to add the fluff and icing while the cake is hot. a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
My fiance said this was great. I couldn't finish the piece I cut for myself. It was just a bit much for my sweet tooth. Probably won't make it again, unless he requests it for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Awesome Cake, made it for a family get together and everyone loved it. The only thing i changed was substituting pecans for the walnuts. And I will probably only bake it 30 minutes the next time i make it so it will have more of a cake like texture. But loved the taste YUM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I love this cake. It seemed a little more like a brownie. It didn't rise very high but gosh it is a great sweet. I might bake it a less then the 35 minutes. I left out the nuts because some people just don't like nuts and it is wonderful without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
These really should be called mississippi mud brownies. They are so dense and thick - just like the perfect brownie. My boyfriend and I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I may use the base "cake" part as my regular brownie recipe. Thank you so much! Fabulous dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GINGER08
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Loved it! First time making this type of cake. I did something wrong though and the icing was too crunchy, so next time Ill just use hot fudge instead. Great with whipped cream on top too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This cake is Dangerous. Very sweet and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States